Four chosen for Cedar Rapids Baseball 2017 Hall of Fame

John Roseboro, Barry Morgan, Bob Forsch and Russ Rossiter

By Andrew Pantini / Cedar Rapids Kernels | January 26, 2017 12:26 PM ET

Cedar Rapids, IA - Four individuals have been selected for induction into the Cedar Rapids Baseball Hall of Fame in 2017. They are former players John Roseboro, Barry Morgan and Bob Forsch and contributor Russ Rossiter.

John Roseboro played for the Cedar Rapids Raiders during the 1955 season. In 55 games, he hit .235 with 5 home runs. Signed by the Brooklyn Dodgers in 1952, he made his Major League debut in 1957 at the age of 24. His MLB career spanned 14 seasons with the Dodgers, Minnesota Twins and Washington Senators. He was a four-time All-Star and is considered one of the best defensive catchers of the 1960's. He is most known for his role in one of the most violent incidents in baseball history when he was struck in the head by pitcher Juan Marichal during a game in 1965. Roseboro passed away on August 16, 2002 in Los Angeles at the age of 69.

Barry Morgan was a member of the 1961 Cedar Rapids Braves team as an outfielder. He played 130 games for the Braves, batting .289 with 23 HR and 89 RBI. He also set a Southern League record in 1967 with 25 outfield assists. He played 12 minor league seasons, reaching triple-A with Toledo in 1969 and 1970 and finished his career with 165 HR and 832 RBI in 1,402 minor league games. Barry has returned to Cedar Rapids every summer since 2006 as part of the 1961 Cedar Rapids Braves Alumni Night, along with other CR Hall of Fame Members Paul Snyder and Ron Hunt. Barry owns an insurance business and currently resides in Greensboro, NC.

Bob Forsch pitched for the Cedar Rapids Cardinals in 1970 and 1971. Drafted by the St. Louis Cardinals in the 26th round of the 1968 draft out of Oregon State University, he pitched in 24 games for Cedar Rapids, posting an 11-7 record and 3.13 ERA with seven completed games. He made his Major League debut with the Cardinals on July 7, 1974 vs. Cincinnati and went on to pitch 16 seasons in the majors with St. Louis and Houston. He has a career 168-136 record and 3.76 ERA in 498 Major League games including 67 complete games. He was the brother of Ken Forsch and passed away on November 3, 2011 at the age of 61.

Russ Rossiter was member of the Cedar Rapids Baseball Club Board of Directors for 17 years serving as the club's secretary during part of that time. Born in St. Louis, MO on June 19, 1917, he was a U.S. Navy veteran of World War II. He was the personnel safety director for Highway Equipment Company for 19 years, and served on the Cedar Rapids Baseball Club Board of Directors from 1977 until he passed away on February 10, 1994 at the age of 76.

The Class of 2017 Hall of Fame will be recognized before a Kernels game on 'Hall of Fame Night and Alumni Night' scheduled for Wednesday, July 19 at 6:35 PM.

The mission of the Cedar Rapids Ball Club Hall of Fame is to honor those individuals who, through extraordinary personal effort, have furthered the existence, quality or preservation of professional baseball in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. The Hall of Fame is located in the Bimm Ridder Diamond Shop and a Hall of Fame Timeline is located on the suite level at Veterans Memorial Stadium and is open during all Kernel home games, normal store hours, or by special appointment.

The Cedar Rapids Kernels are the Midwest League affiliate of the Minnesota Twins and open the 2017 home season vs. Beloit on Saturday, April 8th at 5:05 PM. This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More