Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon
Triple-A Affiliate
The Official Site of the Las Vegas Aviators Las Vegas Aviators

Who's the Best Former Stars, 51s, Aviators to Play on Each of the 30 MLB Teams?

Ozzie Guillen (1984)
Kevin McReynolds (1983)
Derrek Lee (1997)
James Loney (2006-07)

Leaving Las Vegas, hitting it big in The Show

What do all 30 MLB teams have in common? A direct connection to Las Vegas' Triple-A franchise


A career .300 hitter. A back-to-back Cy Young Award winner. A Rookie of the Year. A three-time Gold Glove-winning first baseman. A 10-time Gold Glove-winning second baseman (and Hall of Famer).


At one point over the past 37 years, they all have passed through Las Vegas on their way to big-league glory, as have dozens of other Triple-A prospects-turned-major leaguers. But in many cases, these players enjoyed success with organizations other than the ones that promoted them from Las Vegas.


In fact, even though Las Vegas has been the top affiliate of just five MLB teams since 1983-the San Diego Padres (1983-2000), Los Angeles Dodgers (2001-08), Toronto Blue Jays (2009-12), New York Mets (2013-2018) and Oakland A's (2019-present)-all 30 big-league clubs have rostered at least one player who once donned a Las Vegas Stars, 51s or Aviators jersey.


What follows is a rundown of the top Las Vegas alumni for each MLB team, including the year(s) each player a member of the Stars, 51s or Aviators.


Houston Astros: Collin McHugh (2013)

Los Angeles Angels: George Arias (1997-99)

Oakland Athletics: Brett Lawrie (2011)

Seattle Mariners: Joey Cora (1987-90)

Texas Rangers: Ray Hayward (1984-87)


Chicago White Sox: Ozzie Guillen (1984)

Cleveland Indians: Sandy Alomar Jr. (1988-89)

Detroit Tigers: Edwin Jackson (2004-05, 2019)

Kansas City Royals: Keith Lockhart (1994)

Minnesota Twins: Shane Mack (1986-89)


Baltimore Orioles: Gary Mathews Jr. (1999)

Boston Red Sox: Carlos Baerga (1989, '99)

New York Yankees: Andy Hawkins (1983)

Tampa Bay Rays: Travis d'Arnaud (2012-17)

Toronto Blue Jays: Roberto Alomar (1988)


Arizona Diamondbacks: Tony Abreu (2007)

Colorado Rockies: Jerald Clark (1989-90)

Los Angeles Dodgers: James Loney (2006-07)

San Diego Padres: Kevin McReynolds (1983)

San Francisco Giants: Cody Ross (2004-05)


Chicago Cubs: Derrek Lee (1997)

Cincinnati Reds: Bip Roberts (1987-88, '95)

Milwaukee Brewers: Eric Thames (2011-12)

Pittsburgh Pirates: Russell Martin (2006)

St. Louis Cardinals: Matt Bowman (2014-15)



Atlanta Braves: Derek Lilliquist (1991)

Miami Marlins: Adeiny Hechavarria (2011-12)

New York Mets: Jacob deGrom (2013-14)

Philadelphia Phillies: John Kruk (1984-86)

Washington Nationals: Yan Gomes (2011-12)