Four leads the charm

LumberKings blow five run lead but win in 11th

Nick Zammarelli singled home the game deciding run for the LumberKings in the 11th inning.

By Erik Oas / Clinton LumberKings | August 5, 2017 12:51 AM ET


APPLETON, WI (August 4, 2017) - The Clinton LumberKings held four different leads, the last dropping the Wisconsin Timber Rattlers 8-7 in 11 innings on Friday night at Neuroscience Group Field. At one point, Clinton (17-24, 48-60) held a five-run lead but failed to hold on, taking the series deciding game in 11 innings.

The scoring started for the LumbeKings in the first inning when Jhombeyker Morales doubled with one out off Wisconsin (18-23, 44-65) starter Victor Diaz. A Joe Rizzo ground out and Diaz wild pitch scored Morales for the first run of the game.

The first lead of the night was quickly erased in the bottom of the first inning. Keston Hirua doubled home Dallas Carroll to tie the game.

In the top of the third inning, Clinton tallied three runs. Gareth Morgan initiated the scoring with his team leading 12th home run of the year, a solo home run to left. The LumberKings then strung three hits toghter and stole four bases in the inning to take their second lead of the night.

Clinton added to their lead with a Yojhan Quevedo solo home run in the third, his fifth of the season, and another run in the fourth when Morales doubled home Johnny Slater. Morales paced the LumberKings offense with a 3-for-5 night at the plate in which he drove in three runs, scored two runs and collected two doubles.

Wisconsin chipped away at the LumberKings lead with one run in the fifth before breaking out for a four-run rally in the sixth. Wisconsin sent eight men to the plate in the inning and scored the game's tying run on a strikeout. Following a Dallas Carroll two-run single and error that made it 6-5, the tying run was at second with one out. LumberKings reliever Tyler Watson struck out the next two batters only to have the tying score from second on a strikeout-wild pitch.

The game remained tied until Luis Rengifo tripled with one out in the eighth and scored on a Morales ground out.

Again, the lead was lost. Seth Elledge was charged with his second blown save of the road trip when he allowed an unearned run to score in the bottom of the ninth inning.

Elledge (2-0) settled down to strand the bases loaded in the ninth and work a perfect bottom of the 10th to earn his second win of the season.

The game's deciding run was scored in the bottom of the 11th inning. With two out and runners at first and second Nick Zammarelli singled to left off Timber Rattler reliever Andrew Vernon (0-4).

Wisconsin did not go away in the bottom of the 11th, putting runners at first and third with only one out. J.P. Sears then ended the game when Ronnie Gideon lined a ball to first that allowed Quevedo to throw to second to double off the runner and preserved the LumberKings win.

The LumberKings head home to open a four-game series with the Peoria Chiefs on Saturday night. Left-handed pitcher Danny Garcia (6-9, 5.94) will take the ball for Clinton and face Peoria left-handed pitcher Evan Kruczynski (1-2, 5.03). Game time is slated for 6:30 PM (C.D.T.) with the pregame show on 100.3 FM WCCI beginning at 6:15 PM, Erik Oas will be on the call. The series opens with the highly anticipated Edwin Diaz bobblehead giveaway presented by KWQC-TV. The first 750 fans through the gates will receive the bobblehead and fans can stay after the game for a special post-game concert from Slough Boys.


About the LumberKings


The LumberKings, the only remaining Charter Member of the Midwest League, are playing their 62nd season in the league and their ninth as an affiliate of the Seattle Mariners. Since the club's inception in 1937, 271 former Clinton players have made it to the Major Leagues. The LumberKings play at historic Ashford University Field located off 6th Avenue North at 537 Ballpark Drive. Tickets to all 70 home games are available by calling (563) 242-0727 or by visiting

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More