AFL announces 2012 organization

League reveals assignments and staffs for 20th season

By Arizona Fall League | July 25, 2012 1:31 PM ET

PHOENIX, Ariz. -- Arizona Fall League Director Steve Cobb has announced organization and staff assignments, including managers, pitching coaches, hitting coaches and athletic trainers, for the Arizona Fall League's 20th anniversary season that begins Tue, Oct. 9.

The league's 2012 schedule will be released in early August followed by rosters in late August.

Regarded throughout professional baseball as the "finishing school" for top prospects, the six-team league features top prospects from every organization in Major League Baseball. It plays three games each day, six days a week (Mon-Sat) in six Cactus League stadiums in the Phoenix metropolitan area: Mesa Hohokam Stadium, Peoria Sports Complex, Phoenix Municipal Stadium, Salt River Fields at Talking Stick, Scottsdale Stadium and Surprise Stadium.

Daily start times are 12:35 p.m. and 6:35 p.m.

This year's seventh annual Rising Stars Game will be played on Sat, Nov. 3 at Salt River Fields at Talking Stick. The league's championship will be held Sat, Nov. 17 at Scottsdale Stadium.

The Arizona Fall League is owned and operated by Major League Baseball.

East Division

Mesa Solar Sox
(Hohokam Stadium)

* Baltimore Orioles
* Chicago Cubs
* Detroit Tigers
* Houston Astros
* Los Angeles Dodgers
Manager: Rodney Linares (Astros)
Pitching coach: Matt Herges (Dodgers)
Hitting coach: Brian Harper (Cubs)
Trainers: Aaron Scott (Orioles), Corey Tremble (Tigers)

Salt River Rafters
(Talking Stick)

* Arizona Diamondbacks
* Chicago White Sox
* Colorado Rockies
* Toronto Blue Jays
* Washington Nationals
Manager: Matt Williams (Diamondbacks)
Pitching coach: Mark Grater (Nationals)
Hitting coach: Jon Nunnally (Blue Jays)
Trainers: Cory Barton (White Sox), Chris Dovey (Rockies)

Scottsdale Scorpions
(Scottsdale Stadium)

* Cleveland Indians
* L.A. Angels of Anaheim
* New York Yankees
* Pittsburgh Pirates
* San Francisco Giants
Manager: Carlos Mendoza (Yankees)
Pitching coach: Mike Couchee (Giants)
Hitting coach: Phil Clark (Indians)
Trainers: Bryan Housand (Pirates), Mike Metcalfe (Angels)

West Division

Peoria Javelinas
(Peoria Stadium)

* Cincinnati Reds
* Minnesota Twins
* Philadelphia Phillies
* San Diego Padres
* Seattle Mariners
Manager: Dusty Wathan (Phillies)
Pitching coach: Lance Painter (Mariners)
Hitting coach: Alex Pelaez (Reds)
Trainers: Ricky Huerta (Padres), Alan Rail (Twins)

Phoenix Desert Dogs
(Phoenix Municipal Stadium)

* Atlanta Braves
* Oakland Athletics
* Miami Marlins
* Milwaukee Brewers
* Tampa Bay Rays
Manager: Aaron Holbert (Braves)
Pitching coach: Charlie Corbell (Marlins)
Hitting coach: Darnell Coles (Brewers)
Trainers: Nate Brooks (Athletics), Chris Tomashoff (Rays)

Surprise Saguaros
(Surprise Stadium)

* Boston Red Sox
* Kansas City Royals
* New York Mets
* St. Louis Cardinals
* Texas Rangers
Manager: Jason Wood (Rangers)
Pitching coach: Jim Brower (Royals)
Hitting coach: TBD (Cardinals)
Trainers: Brandon Henry (Red Sox), Eric Velazquez (Mets)

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More