AquaSox Win Northwest League Championship

Everett Defeats Spokane 6-1 for First Title Since 1985

The 2010 NWL Champion Everett AquaSox (Shari Sommerfield/AquaSox)

By Tyler Krochmal / Everett AquaSox | September 12, 2010 3:00 PM

EVERETT, Wash. - The Everett AquaSox won the 2010 Northwest League Championship Sunday night with a 6-1 victory over the Spokane Indians at Everett Memorial Stadium. Everett defeats Spokane two games to one in the three-game NWL Finals to claim its first title since 1985, when the team was known as the Everett Giants.

Anthony Fernandez (2-0, 0.00 ERA) was brilliant in the decisive Game 3, pitching seven scoreless innings to earn his second win of the postseason. Fernandez, a 2010 NWL All-Star, allowed just four hits and three walks while striking out three and finished the season by not allowing an earned run in his final four outings (25 IP).

Evan Sharpley picked up right where he had left off Saturday night, crushing a solo home run off the foul pole in left field to put the Sox up 1-0 after two. Sharpley had driven in three of the four Sox runs in Game 2 with two clutch base hits.

After Fernandez battled through some tough situations in the third and fourth, Kevin Rivers led off the bottom of the frame with a walk and was followed by a Hawkins Gebbers double off the wall in left. Sharpley then delivered once again, this time with a groundball to first that was mishandled by Andrew Clark, allowing two more runs score. Sharpley eventually came around to score on a two-run, two-out double by Anthony Phillips and Terry Serrano knocked in another with a single to right that gave the Sox a commanding 6-0 lead.

Right-hander Eric Valdez took over for Fernandez to start the eighth inning with the score still 6-0 and gave up one run before departing with one out to go in the ninth. Tyler Burgoon finished the job with a strikeout to secure the win and set off an AquaSox championship celebration. Randol Rojas (1-1, 2.79 ERA) took the loss for Spokane.

The Sox finish the season as the NWL Champions, winners of the West Division and also tied a franchise record for most wins in single season at 49, matching the 1987 Everett Giants. Keep checking for updates during the off-season, player news and a complete summary of the 2010 season.

The AquaSox would like to thank all season ticket holders, sponsors, host families and great fans for showing their support for the team this season and making Everett Memorial Stadium an enjoyable experience for everyone.

For more information on the Everett AquaSox, Class-A Short-Season affiliate of the Seattle Mariners, and for ticket information, please call (425) 258-3673 or visit

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More