BayBears flirt with no-hitter in series finale win

Castillo tosses seven no-hit innings, Braves break it up in ninth inning


By Mobile BayBears | April 25, 2018 4:10 PM

MOBILE, Ala. (April 25, 2018) - The Mobile BayBears, the Double-A affiliate of the Los Angeles Angels, took a no-hitter into the ninth inning and edged out a 2-1 win over the Mississippi Braves in the series finale Wednesday at Hank Aaron Stadium.


Jesus Castillo (2-1) pitched a career-high seven innings and did not allow a hit. The only Mississippi (8-12) batter to reach was Alex Jackson, who was hit by a pitch in the second, but he was quickly erased with an inning-ending double play. Castillo faced the minimum and struck out four.


Conor Lillis-White worked a hitless eighth inning, but Tyler Marlette led off the ninth with a double to left-center field. Marlette scored on a sacrifice fly to cut Mobile's lead to 2-1, but Lillis-White got out of the inning and earned his second save of the series.


Wade Wass hit his first home run off Enderson Franco (0-2) to give the BayBears (10-9) a 1-0 lead in the fourth inning. Taylor Ward drove in Bo Way with an RBI single in the seventh.


The BayBears begin a five-game road series against the Montgomery Biscuits Thursday at 6:35 p.m. CDT. Right-handed pitcher Luis Pena (0-2, 7.11 ERA) is scheduled to make the start against southpaw Genesis Cabrera (1-2, 2.74 ERA) for the Biscuits. Live coverage can be seen on (subscription required, promo code: BAYBEARS) and heard on the BayBears Broadcast Network, the TuneIn Radio App, and the MiLB First Pitch App, with the Countdown to First Pitch starting at 6:15 p.m.


The BayBears return home next Wednesday and host a total of 70 home dates through Labor Day, September 3. Single-game tickets and ticket packages are currently on sale. Season tickets and group and hospitality offerings for the 2018 season can be reserved by calling (251) 479-BEAR (2327).


About the Mobile BayBears

The Mobile BayBears are the Double-A affiliate of the Los Angeles Angels and play their games at Hank Aaron Stadium in Mobile, Ala. The BayBears were founded in 1997 and have won four Southern League titles in 1998, 2004, 2011, and 2012. Additionally, the 1998 and 2011 championship squads were named Minor League Team of the Year by Baseball America. More than 160 former BayBears have reached the Major League level, including All-Stars Max Scherzer, Paul Goldschmidt, Jake Peavy, Carlos Gonzalez, and Justin Upton. For more information on the Mobile BayBears and Hank Aaron Stadium, please visit, call (251) 479-BEAR (2327), or contact Steve Goldberg via email at


This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More