Bob Richmond Named Warren Giles Recipient

November 5, 2012 11:00 AM

Release courtesy of Minor League Baseball

The Warren Giles Award annually honors outstanding service as a league president. Bob Richmond has led the Northwest League for 30 years during his two stints as president. He also helped found the Arizona League in 1988 and has served as its president since its inception.

"From stabilizing the league in the 1970s when the existence of some of its clubs was in doubt, to spearheading its growth and development into one of our most successful circuits, Bob's leadership, foresight and experience as a consultant have been invaluable to the Northwest League," Pat O'Conner, President of Minor League Baseball, stated. "His three decades of service to the Northwest League, in addition to his duties as Arizona League President, validate his selection as a two-time winner of the Warren Giles Award."

"It's quite a thrill to again be honored as the recipient of the Warren Giles Award," said Richmond. "This award is a testament to the directors, GMs and staffs of the NWL who all do such a great job making our league what it is today. To them I say 'thank you for making this award possible'."

Richmond was serving as the attorney for the Northwest League in 1974 when he was asked if he'd assume the president's role temporarily, while a suitable replacement was found. Bob enjoyed the role so much that he held the post for eight years, before leaving to concentrate on his consulting firm, Baseball Opportunities, Inc., that represents buyers and sellers of Minor League Baseball clubs.

Ten years after leaving the Northwest League, its members came calling again. Richmond began his second tenure as NWL president in 1991. Since then, three of the leagues eight clubs have had new stadiums built. The Hillsboro Hops, who recently relocated from Yakima, Wash., to a Portland, Ore., suburb for the 2013 season, just broke ground on their new ballpark.

Richmond is retiring from his position as Northwest League president at the end of this year, in order to spend more time with his family and friends and to free up some time for other things. He will remain an advisor to the league in 2013.

Bob will continue to be the president of the Arizona League. He is also a co-owner of the Midland RockHounds of the Texas League.

Richmond, who also won the honor in 1999, will receive his award at the Banquet on Thursday, Dec. 6. He is the fifth man to win the Giles Award twice, since it was first presented in 1984. International League President Randy Mobley (1994, 2002), Midwest League President George Spelius (1997, 2010), Florida State League President Chuck Murphy (1991, 2011) and former South Atlantic League President John Moss (1993, 2007) are the others who have received the Giles Award on multiple occasions.

Warren Giles Award Winners
1984 Charles Eshbach, Eastern League
1985 Bill Walters, Midwest League
1986 Joe Ryan, American Association
1987 Carl Sawatski, Texas League
1988 Harold Cooper, International League
1989 Jimmy Bragan, Southern League
1990 Joe Gagliardi, California League
1991 Chuck Murphy, Florida State League
1992 Bill Cutler, Pacific Coast League
1993 John Moss, South Atlantic League
1994 Randy Mobley, International League
1995 John Hopkins, Carolina League
1996 Freddy Jana, Dominican Summer League
1997 George Spelius, Midwest League
1998 Branch Rickey, Pacific Coast League
1999 Bob Richmond, Northwest League & Arizona Leagues
2000 Bill Troubh, Eastern League
2001 Lee Landers, Appalachian League
2002 Randy Mobley, International League
2003 Tom Kayser, Texas League
2004 Saul Gonzalez, Venezuelan Summer League
2005 Tom Saffell, Gulf Coast League
2006 Joe McEacharn, Eastern League
2007 John Moss, South Atlantic League
2008 Don Mincher, Southern League
2009 Ben Hayes, New York-Penn League
2010 George Spelius, Midwest League
2011 Chuck Murphy, Florida State League
2012 Bob Richmond, Northwest & Arizona Leagues

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More