Bradley, Pederson head SL All-Stars

North Division set to face South in Jacksonville on July 17

Joc Pederson is among the top four in the SL in batting, slugging and steals. (Tim Evearitt)

By John Parker / | July 3, 2013 9:43 AM

The Double-A Southern League completed the announcement of its All-Star Game rosters Wednesday as the South Division lineup was revealed a day after the North Division team. The circuit's Midsummer Classic will be held in Jacksonville on Wednesday, July 17.

A pair of clubs -- Chattanooga (Dodgers) for the North and Mobile (D-backs) for the South -- are represented by seven players apiece. Mississippi (Braves), Tennessee (Cubs) and first-place Birmingham (White Sox) will send six players each, host Jacksonville (Miami) five and Montgomery (Rays) four. The three remaining teams feature three All-Stars each.

The South roster boasts three of the five Southern League hitters now batting over .300: league-leader Kevin Kiermaier of Montgomery (.317), Mobile's Justin Greene (.311) and Jose Martinez of Mississippi (.301). Jackson's Julio Morban (.309) and Chattanooga's Joc Pederson (.302) will bolster the North lineup. Pederson ranks in the league's top four in hitting, on-base percentage, slugging, home runs, runs scored and stolen bases. League home run leader Kyle Jensen of Jacksonville is unavailable for the South after being promoted to Triple-A New Orleans.

The South figures to have a slight edge on the mound, as Archie Bradley (Mobile), Chad Rogers (Pensacola), Gus Schlosser (Mississippi) and David Holmberg (Mobile) own four of the top five ERAs among the league's current pitchers. Bradley is second in the Minor Leagues with 112 strikeouts. Tennessee's Kyle Hendricks, second on the circuit with a 2.06 mark, anchors the North Division staff.

The North Division had won all seven contests since the league went to its current divisional format in 2005 before dropping a 6-2 decision in Tennessee last year. The South will try to make it two in a row as the game returns to Jacksonville for the first time since 2003.

C Mike Blanke^ Birmingham CWS
C Rafael Lopez Tennessee CHC
1B Adam Weisenburger*^ Huntsville MIL
2B Rafael Ynoa^ Chattanooga LAD
3B Christian Villanueva^ Tennessee CHC
SS Arismendy Alcantara^ Tennessee CHC
OF James Jones^ Jackson SEA
OF Brock Kjeldgaard* Huntsville MIL
OF Joc Pederson^ Chattanooga LAD
OF Matt Szczur^ Tennessee CHC
DH Dan Black^ Birmingham CWS
UTL IF Marcus Semian Birmingham CWS
UTL OF Trayce Thompson* Birmingham CWS
RHP Alberto Cabrera Tennessee CHC
LHP Roenis Elias Jackson SEA
RHP Yimi Garcia Chattanooga LAD
RHP Kyle Hendricks^ Tennessee CHC
RHP Taylor Jungmann Huntsville MIL
RHP Zach Lee Chattanooga LAD
RHP Nick McCully Birmingham CWS
RHP Hector Nelo Chattanooga LAD
RHP Ariel Pena* Huntsville MIL
LHP Scott Snodgress Birmingham CWS
RHP Ross Stripling Chattanooga LAD
RHP Taylor Thompson Birmingham CWS

Honorable mention: The following players were nominated for the All-Star Teams because they were on Southern League rosters when the ballots went out on June 12. However, they have since been promoted out of the League: Erik Johnson (Birmingham), Andy Wilkins (Birmingham), Rob Rasmussen (Chattanooga), Jimmy Nelson (Huntsville) and Taijuan Walker (Jackson). Additionally, Ryan Kussmaul (Birmingham) is unavailable after going on the disabled list.

* Huntsville's Brock Kjeldgaard replaced teammate Kentrail Davis, who was promoted to Albuquerque, and Huntsville's Ariel Pena replaced Chattanooga's Luis Vasquez. In addition, Huntsville's Adam Weisenburger replaced injured teammate Jason Rogers on the roster and as the starting first baseman. Birmingham outfielder Trayce Thompson replaced injured Jackson Generals outfielder Julio Morban, who was replaced in the starting lineup by teammates James Jones.

^ denotes player is starting in the game.

C Tucker Barnhart Pensacola CIN
C Christian Bethancourt^ Mississippi ATL
1B Cameron Seitzer^ Montgomery TB
2B Mike Freeman^ Mobile ARI
3B Edward Salcedo^ Mississippi ATL
SS Jaime Pedroza^ Mississippi ATL
OF Justin Greene^ Mobile ARI
OF Kevin Kiermaier^ Montgomery TB
OF Jake Marisnick^ Jacksonville MIA
OF Jose Martinez Mississippi ATL
DH Nick Evans^ Mobile ARI
DH J.T. Realmuto** Jacksonville MIA
UTL OF Ender Inciarte Mobile ARI
RHP Michael Brady Jacksonville MIA
RHP Arquimedes Caminero** Jacksonville MIA
RHP Collin Cargill** Jacksonville MIA
LHP Andrew Chafin** Mobile ARI
LHP Adam Conley Jacksonville MIA
RHP Tim Crabbe Pensacola CIN
LHP Grant Dayton** Jacksonville MIA
RHP Shaun Ellis** Pensacola CIN
RHP Bradin Hagens Mobile ARI
LHP David Holmberg^ Mobile ARI
RHP Jay Jackson Jacksonville MIA
RHP Scott McGough Jacksonville MIA

Honorable mention: The following players were nominated for the All-Star Teams because they were on Southern League rosters when the ballots went out on June 12. However, they have since been promoted out of the League: Kyle Jensen (Jacksonville), Kevin Munson (Mobile), C.J. Riefenhauser (Montgomery) and Juan Sandoval (Montgomery).

** Replaced one of many pitchers unable to participate: Archie Bradley (Mobile), Sam Dyson (Jacksonville), Mark Lam (Mississippi), Chad Rogers (Pensacola), Enny Romero (Montgomery), Gus Schlosser (Mississippi). Jacksonville's J.T. Realmuto replaced Montgomery's Mikie Mahtook, who is injured.

^ denotes player is starting in the game.

John Parker is an editor for This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More