Brewers Win Pioneer League Championship

Hawn Drives in Eight

(Courtesy Noall Knighton)

September 16, 2010 8:28 PM

The Helena Brewers clinched the Pioneer League Championship defeating the Ogden Raptors 14-3 Thursday night at Lindquist Field.

The Brewers scored early with two runs in the first. With one out, Shea Vucinich singled to left, followed by a Cody Hawn two-run homer to left, giving the Brewers a 2-0 lead.

In the fourth, the Brewers scored six runs, highlighted by Hawn's second homer of the game, a grand slam out to left. The Brewers led 8-0 after the fourth inning.

In the fifth, the Brewers scored six again. Hawn came up with another big hit as the All-Star hit a two-run single to center. After five innings, Helena led Ogden 14-0.

The Raptors scored their only runs in the bottom of the fifth. Nick Akins, who led the league with 15 home runs during the regular season, hit his third home run of the post-season, a three-run shot to left.

All-Star pitcher Matt Miller earned his second win of the playoffs, working five innings and giving up just three runs on six hits. The right-hander struck out four and walked two.

Helena relievers Eric Marsec, Jimmy Nelson and Brian Garman combined for four shutout innings, allowing just two hits and striking out four.

Helena won the series, two games to none, winning its first Pioneer League Championship since 1996, the last time the Raptors played for the Championship.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More