Drillers, Top Prospects Fill All-Star Rosters

Eight Tulsa players chosen for ONEOK Field game

June 14, 2012 9:17 AM ET

The 2012 U.S. Cellular Texas League All-Star Game that will be played on June 28 at Tulsa's ONEOK Field will have a definite hometown feel to it. Texas League President Tom Kayser announced the rosters for the 76th annual game today and the North Division squad includes eight Tulsa Drillers.

The eight Tulsa representatives that will play for the North Division in the contest are Nolan Arenado, Josh Rutledge, Lars Davis, Ben Paulsen, Edwar Cabrera, Dan Houston, Nick Schmidt and Coty Woods. In addition, the Drillers staff of manager Duane Espy, pitching coach Dave Schuler, hitting coach Kevin Riggs and trainer Austin O'Shea will handle the North Division squad for the game.

Third baseman Arenado, shortstop Rutledge and catcher Davis will be starters in the game, while Paulsen will be a reserve first baseman. The starting pitcher for the game will be announced later.

Players for the two teams are chosen through voting by Texas League managers and media members.

The eight representatives tied Tulsa with Frisco for the most players in the marquee game. The RoughRiders also placed eight players on the South Division roster.

The North Division team includes players from the Drillers, Arkansas Travelers, Northwest Arkansas Naturals and Springfield Cardinals.

The South Division roster consists of players from the Corpus Christi Hooks, Frisco RoughRiders, Midland RockHounds and San Antonio Missions.

This year's game looks to be one of the best in recent years, with a number of highly rated prospects slated to play in the game. The rosters include four players that are considered the top minor league prospects in their respective major league organizations, as ranked by MLB.com.

Those four players include Tulsa's Arenado who is now the number one prospect in the Colorado Rockies system. Jean Segura of Arkansas is number one for the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim, Jurickson Profar of Frisco is listed number one for the Texas Rangers and Jonathan Singleton of Corpus Christi is ranked number one for the Houston Astros.

Other highly ranked prospects voted to participate in the game are Oscar Taveras (#3 prospect for St. Louis), Kolten Wong (#4 for St. Louis), Mike Olt (#3 for Texas), Jonathan Villar (#4 for Houston), Trevor Rosenthal (#7 for St. Louis) and Brett Oberholtzer (#7 for Houston).

The South Division team will be managed by San Antonio's staff that includes manager John Gibbons, coach Tom Tornincasa and trainer Nathan Stewart.

Festivities surrounding the game will include the pre-game First Fidelity Bank Home Run Derby that will crown a Texas League Champion and a High School Champion. Baseball Hall of Fame member Whitey Herzog is scheduled to throw out one of the game's ceremonial first pitches, and the Grammy nominated group Hanson will sing the National Anthem. The largest Fireworks Show of the year at ONEOK Field is scheduled for after the game.

Tickets remain available and are now on sale through TulsaDrillers.com, in person at the ONEOK Field Ticket Office or over the telephone at (918)744-5901.

The complete rosters for both squads are listed below.

2012 Texas League All-Star Teams
North Division All-Star Team
South Division All-Star Team
Starting Position Players
Lars Davis C Tulsa Ali Solis C San Antonio
Johnny Whittleman 1B NW Arkansas Nate Freiman 1B San Antonio
Kolten Wong 2B Springfield Jose Martinez 2B Corpus Christi
Nolan Arenado 3B Tulsa Mike Olt 3B Frisco
Josh Rutledge SS Tulsa Jurickson Profar SS Frisco
Yem Prades OF NW Arkansas Jeremy Barfield OF Midland
Oscar Taveras OF Springfield Engel Beltre OF Frisco
Carlo Testa OF NW Arkansas Shane Peterson OF Midland
Ben Paulsen DH Tulsa Jonathan Singleton DH Corpus Christi
Reserve Position Players
Audry Perez C Springfield Zach Zaneski C Frisco
Mario Lisson INF NW Arkansas Anthony Aliotti INF Midland
Jermaine Curtis INF Springfield Dean Anna INF San Antonio
Jean Segura INF Arkansas Jonathan Villar INF Corpus Christi
Roberto Lopez OF Arkansas Conner Crumbliss OF Midland
Keith Butler RHP Springfield Carlos Pimentel RHP Frisco
Josh Sullivan RHP Tulsa Jake Brigham RHP Frisco
Dan Houston RHP Tulsa Kevin Chapman LHP Corpus Christi
Patrick Keating RHP NW Arkansas Jeremy McBryde RHP San Antonio
Justin Marks LHP NW Arkansas Barret Loux RHP Frisco
Ariel Pena RHP Arkansas Ross Seaton RHP Corpus Christi
Trevor Rosenthal RHP Springfield Jonathan Ortiz RHP Midland
Nick Schmidt LHP Tulsa Murphy Smith RHP Midland
A.J. Schugel RHP Arkansas Jason Stoffel RHP Corpus Christi
Coty Woods RHP Tulsa Jarred Cosart RHP Corpus Christi
Duane Espy Mgr. Tulsa John Gibbons Mgr. San Antonio
Kevin Riggs Coach Tulsa Randy Johnson Coach
Dave Schuler Coach Tulsa Damion Easley Coach
Austin O'Shea Trainer Tulsa Nathan Stewart Trainer San Antonio

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More