Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Overbeck's power tops FSL ASG rosters

North vs. South game to be played June 12 at Brevard County
June 8, 2010
On Friday, the Florida State League announced rosters for the 2010 FSL All-Star Game to be played at Space Coast Stadium in Viera, Fla., on Saturday, June 12, 2010, at 7:35 p.m. ET.

The top two pitchers in the league in ERA -- Bradenton's Bryan Morris and Fort Myers' Kyle Gibson have been promoted -- but Tampa's Adam Warren (6-3, 1.93 ERA) is on the North roster. Top Blue Jays prospect Henderson Alvarez (5-1, 2.42) of Dunedin joins Daytona's Rafael Dolis (3-3, 2.34), Lakeland's Charlie Furbush (3-3, 2.73) and Tampa's Hector Noesi (5-2, 2.72) on a pitching staff that will make runs hard for the South to come by.

The South has its share of strong arms, led by Bradenton's Nathan Adcock (5-2, 2.50). St. Lucie's Manuel Alvarez hasn't allowed an earned run out of the Mets bullpen in 25 2/3 innings. He's seen similar success in his last three outings in Binghamton and may not be with St. Lucie when the game is played on June 12, but he's a deserved All-Star selection nonetheless.

Phillies prospect Cody Overbeck leads the Florida State League in home runs with 11 and RBIs with 38, so he was an easy selection to the North infield from Clearwater. The North also boasts the No. 2 and 3 batting leaders in the FSL in Rawley Bishop (.341 batting average) and Kody Kaiser (.339), both from Lakeland.

The South offense is led by Bradenton's Jeremy Farrell, who is second to Overbeck with 23 extra-base hits. The fourth overall pick in the 2009 Draft, Tony Sanchez, is one of three catchers for the South. The Marauder's .316 batting average and .423 OBP show that Sanchez was reading for his first go-round at the Class A Advanced level. Charlotte's Isaias Velasquez and his 18 stolen bases will add speed to the North lineup.

The coaching and training staffs from Tampa (North) and Charlotte (South) will direct their All-Stars from the dugout at Space Coast Stadium.

2010 Florida State League All-Star teams
North Division All-Star Team
South Division All-Star Team
Austin Hyatt RHP Clearwater Noah Krol RHP Bradenton
Brayan Villarreal RHP Lakeland Mark Diapoules* RHP Palm Beach
Justin DeFratus RHP Clearwater Matthew Frevert* RHP Palm Beach
Henderson Alvarez RHP Dunedin Joshua Satow* LHP Charlotte
Adam Warren RHP Tampa Billy Bullock RHP Fort Myers
Matt Daly* RHP Dunedin Zachar Quate RHP Charlotte
Trevor May RHP Clearwater Marquis Fleming RHP Charlotte
Aaron Shafer RHP Daytona Ramon Delgado* RHP Palm Beach
Michael Fiers* RHP Brevard County Jeff Locke LHP Bradenton
Rafael Dolis RHP Daytona Neil Schenk* LHP Charlotte
Position Players
Travis d'Arnaud C Dunedin Tony Cruz C Palm Beach
Mitch Abeita C Tampa Chris Herrmann C Fort Myers
Yan Gomes C Dunedin Stephen Vogt C Charlotte
Cody Overbeck INF Clearwater Stefan Welch INF St. Lucie
Rawley Bishop INF Lakeland Ben Lasater* INF Jupiter
Gustavo Nunez* INF Lakeland Josh Satin INF St. Lucie
Corban Joseph INF Tampa Jeremy Farrell INF Bradenton
Matt Cline INF Brevard County Xavier Scruggs INF Palm Beach
Brett Jackson OF Daytona Isaias Velasquez OF Charlotte
Jack Rye OF Tampa Richard Racobaldo OF Palm Beach
Erik Komatsu OF Brevard County Sean Ratliff OF St. Lucie
Kody Kaiser OF Lakeland Quincy Latimore OF Bradenton
Sergio Miranda DH Brevard County Henry Wrigley DH Charlotte
Torre Tyson Mgr. Tampa Jim Morrison Mgr. Charlotte
Greg Pavlick Coach Tampa Neil Allen Coach Charlotte
Julius Matos Coach Tampa Joe Szekely Coach Charlotte
Kris Russell Trainer Tampa Chris Tomashoff Trainer Charlotte
Jay Signorelli Strength Tampa Scott Smith Strength Charlotte

The following players were first-team selections but are unavailable to play due to promotion:

Bryan Morris, RHP, Bradenton
Kyle Gibson, RHP, Fort Myers
Casey Mulligan, RHP, Palm Beach
Yangervis Solarte, INF, Fort Myers

[* Editor's notes: On June 3, the league announced that Jupiter infielder Ben Lasater would replace Palm Beach's Jose Garcia, who was promoted to Double-A Springfield.

On June 4, the league announced that Dunedin pitcher Matt Daly would replace Hector Noesi, who was promoted to Double-A Trenton. Charlotte pitchers Nick Barnese and Joshua Satow and Palm Beach pitcher Matthew Frevert will replace St. Lucie's Chris Schwinden and Manuel Alvarez (both promoted to Double-A Binghamton) and Fort Myers' Bobby Lanigan (injured).

On June 7, the FSL announced that Brevard County pitcher Wily Peralta will replace Bradenton's Nathan Adcock on the South roster. Charlotte pitcher Marquis Fleming will replace Lakeland's Charlie Furbush.

On June 9, Lakeland's Gustavo Nunez was added to the North roster in place of Dunedin's Tyler Patornicky, who is on the disabled list. Brevard County's Michael Fiers replaces teammate Wily Peralta, also on the North team. For the South, Palm Beach pitcher Mark Diapoules has been selected to replace Charlotte's Nick Barnese.

On June 11, the FSL announced that Palm Beach pitcher Ramon Delgado will replace Charlotte pitcher Christopher Andujar. Fort Myers catcher Chris Herrmann will replace Bradenton's Tony Sanchez, who is on the disabled list. Charlotte pitcher Neil Schenk will replace Jupiter pitcher Jhan Marinez, who was promoted to Double-A Jacksonville. St. Lucie infielder Stefan Welch will replace Bradenton infielder Brock Holt. All of these changes affect the South roster.]

Brendon Desrochers is an editor for