Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Rodriguez, Heidenreich lead CAR All-Stars

Lynchburg first baseman, Winston-Salem right-hander take honors
August 30, 2015

Nellie Rodriguez and Matt Heidenreich have both already moved on to Double-A ball, but both are still leaving their marks on the Carolina League.

Rodriguez was voted the 2015 Carolina League Most Valuable Player on Saturday while Heidenreich took the Class A Advanced circuit's Pitcher of the Year honors. Voting was done by league managers, general managers and media.

Rodriguez, the Indians' No. 23 prospect, was a 2012 15th-round pick by Cleveland back in 2012 and enjoyed his best professional season with Lynchburg this season. The 21-year-old first baseman led the Carolina League with 17 homers, 84 RBIs, a .495 slugging percentage and an .852 OPS before getting the bump to Double-A Akron on Aug. 11. His 94 RBIs between the two levels has marked a career high. 

Heidenreich, who got his promotion to Double-A Birmingham on Aug. 17, still leads the Class A Advanced circuit with 12 wins for Winston-Salem and ranks among the league leaders in ERA (2.76, third), WHIP (1.16, fourth) and strikeouts (103, sixth). This all comes in the 24-year-old right-hander's second stint in the White Sox system. A 2009 fourth-round pick by Chicago, Heidenreich was traded to the Astros in July 2012 but was cut by Houston last November and signed a Minor League deal with the White Sox one month later.

Considered the No. 38 prospect in the game, Lynchburg outfielder Clint Frazier was the only top-100 prospect to crack the Carolina League's end-of-season All-Star team. The 20-year-old slugger has a .280/.370/.451 line with 15 homers, two triples, 32 doubles, 70 RBIs and 13 steals in 72 games with the Hillcats.

Here is the complete list of the Carolina League end-of-season All-Stars:

2015 Carolina LEAGUE year-end ALL-STAR TEAM
Omar Narvaez C Winston-Salem CWS
Nellie Rodriguez* 1B Lynchburg CLE
Jake Peter 2B Winston-Salem CWS
Trey Michalczewski 3B Winston-Salem CWS
Johan Camargo SS Carolina ATL
Chesny Young UTIL INF Myrtle Beach CHC
Clint Frazier OF Lynchburg CLE
Connor Lien OF Carolina ATL
Mark Zagunis OF Myrtle Beach CHC
Adam Engel UTIL OF Winston-Salem  CWS
Jacob Schrader DH Carolina ATL
Matt Heindenreich SP Winston-Salem CWS
Cody Wheeler RP Frederick BAL
Mark Johnson MGR Myrtle Beach CHC
James Stone Trainer Wilmington KC
* Most Valuable Player
† Pitcher of the Year

Sam Dykstra is a contributor to Follow and interact with him on Twitter, @SamDykstraMiLB.