Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Four to join Scouts Hall in 2011

Goldklang Group to honor Toomey, Gillis, Howard, Reynolds
February 2, 2011
FLORHAM PARK, NJ -- Four veteran baseball scouts have been named as the 2011 inductees to the Professional Baseball Scouts Hall of Fame (PBSHOF). This unique honor is given to those who exist at the very foundation of player development for the Major Leagues. The inductees will be commemorated with bronze plaques, designed by the acclaimed US Bronze, and placed on display at the three Minor League clubs operated by the Goldklang Group (Charleston RiverDogs, Ft. Myers Miracle, Hudson Valley Renegades).

This year's honorees are as follows: Honored at Charleston will be Mike Toomey (Kansas City Royals). Honored at Fort Myers will be Jack Gillis (Colorado Rockies). Honored at Hudson Valley will be Jim Howard (Baltimore Orioles). Honored on Aug. 25 will be Terry Reynolds (Cincinnati Reds).

Their formal inductions will occur on four separate dates prior to a scheduled game. The 2011 ceremonies will kick off in Fort Myers on March 14th, followed by Charleston on May 20th and Hudson Valley on July 2nd.

"In the last four years we have honored over 60 scouts with the combination of our PBSHOF and scout baseball card program" said Tyler Tumminia, Vice President, Goldklang Group. "We will continue our efforts to recognize scouts and their position within this game and value the support we have received nationwide."

Past Hall of Famers: Jax Robertson (Pittsburgh Pirates), Terry Ryan (Minnesota) Dave Yoakum (Chicago White Sox), Bob Miske (New York Yankees), Ken Stauffer (Tampa Bay), Tom Greenwade (New York Yankees), Marti Wolever (Philadelphia), Joe McIlvaine (Minnesota), Joe Rigoli (St. Louis), Rene Mons (Milwaukee), Roland Johnson (New York Mets), Al Goldis (long time scout), John Barr (San Francisco), Bob Fontaine (Toronto), Gary Hughes (Chicago Cubs), Tom Burns (Toronto), Howard McCullough (Arizona), John Tumminia (Chicago White Sox), Tom Giordano (Texas Rangers), Tom Kotchman (Los Angeles Angels), Rudy Santin (San Francisco Giants), Lennie Merullo (MLSB), Buzz Bowers (Boston Red Sox), Lon Joyce (LA Dodgers), Donny Rowland (New York Yankees), Brad Sloan (Los Angeles Angels), Art Stewart (Kansas City Royals), Phil Rizzo (LA Dodgers), Hep Cronin (Atlanta Braves).