Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Aquino, Castillo voted FSL's top players

Tampa Yankees skipper Osborn named Manager of the Year
September 1, 2016

Reds outfielder Aristides Aquino and Marlins right-hander Luis Castillo took home the Florida State League's top honors on Thursday when the circuit unveiled its end-of-season All-Star squad and award winners.

Aquino, a 22-year-old right-fielder, was named the Class A Advanced league's Player of the Year after hitting .271 with 22 homers, 76 RBIs and 10 steals through 121 games. Castillo, 23, went 8-9 with a 2.07 ERA in 23 games with Jupiter and was selected as Pitcher of the Year.

Tampa Yankees skipper Pat Osborn was named Manager of the Year after guiding the Bombers to a first-half South Division crown.

Aquino's 22 homers rank second in the league behind Lakeland's Christin Stewart, who made the roster as one of four outfielders. Aquino also ranks third in RBIs behind Dunedin first baseman Ryan McBroom (83) and Clearwater designated hitter Kyle Martin (80), both of whom were named All-Stars as well.

Castillo still leads the league in ERA despite being promoted by Miami to Double-A Jacksonville on Aug. 23. A mid-season FSL All-Star, the 6-foot-2 righy left Jupiter with 91 strikeouts and just 18 walks in 117 2/3 innings. He came to the Marlins in a trade for Casey McGehee in 2014.

Dunedin shortstop Richard Urena was named to the team after leading the FSL with a .305 average.

Twins 2014 first-round pick Nick Gordon was voted to the team as a utility infielder, while Jupiter's Dillon Peters represented the only left-handed pitcher to earn a spot.

FSL managers, official scorers, media members and broadcasters from each team voted for the honorees. The full roster is below:

2016 Florida State League Postseason All-Star Team
Tomas Nido C St. Lucie NYM
Kade Scivicque C Lakeland DET
Ryan McBroom 1B Dunedin TOR
Scott Kingery 2B Clearwater PHI
Richard Urena SS Dunedin TOR
Mitch Walding 3B Clearwater PHI
Nick Gordon UTIL INF Fort Myers MIN
Christin Stewart LF Lakeland DET
Carlos Tocci CF Clearwater PHI
Aristides Aquino * RF Daytona CIN
Zack Zehner UTIL OF Tampa NYY
Kyle Martin DH Clearwater PHI
Luis Castillo RHP Jupiter MIA
Greg Harris RHP Charlotte TB
Jimmy Herget RHP Daytona CIN
Matt Pearce RHP Palm Beach STL
Dillon Peters LHP Jupiter MIA
Corey Taylor RHP St. Lucie NYM
Pat Osborn Manager Tampa NYY
Greg Legg Coach Clearwater PHI
Michael Ryan Coach Bradenton PIT
* Player of the Year
† Pitcher of the Year

Danny Wild is an editor for Follow his MLBlog column, Minoring in Twitter.