Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Lindsey named Pioneer League MVP

Voyagers left-hander Walters tabbed as Pitcher of the Year
August 28, 2011
Orem Owlz second baseman Taylor Lindsey, who tied a record by scoring six times in one game and later hit for the cycle, has been named Pioneer League MVP.

Lindsey has been a force offensively and defensively in his first season in the Rookie-level circuit. He leads in hits (90), runs scored (58), total bases (149) and doubles (24), ranks second with 37 extra-base hits and third in batting (.370) and slugging percentage (.613). The 19-year-old Arizona native also boasts a league-best .979 fielding percentage, having committed only five errors in 52 games.

Selected by the Angels in the first round of last year's Draft, Lindsey equaled the league mark on June 21 by scoring six runs in a 23-1 rout of Casper. On Aug. 6, he became the first member of the Owlz to hit for the cycle when he went 5-for-5 with three RBIs and three runs scored in a 9-6 triumph over Ogden.

Lindsey is one of three Owlz on the league's postseason All-Star team. Outfielder Ryan Jones boasts a league-best .630 slugging percentage and ranks among the leaders with 55 RBIs (second), 138 total bases (third), 36 extra-base hits (third), 47 runs scored (fourth) and seven triples (fourth). Designated hitter Frazier Hall leads the circuit with a .378 average, is fourth in slugging (.601) and fifth in hits (73).

The Missoula Osprey, who won the North Division first-half title, also boast three All-Stars in first baseman Jonathan Griffin (.298, 16 homers, 53 RBIs) and pitchers Raymond Hernandez (8-1, 3.13 ERA) and Taylor Siemens (3-1, 2.10).

Great Falls Voyagers left-hander Blair Walters was named Pitcher of the Year after getting the win in seven straight appearances from July 4-Aug. 8. He's second in the league in victories and WHIP (1.13) -- trailing Hernandez in both categories -- and ranks third with a 3.29 ERA.

Rounding out the All-Star infield are Billings Mustangs third baseman Sean Buckley (.293, 14, 41) and Helena Brewers shortstop Yadiel Rivera (.248, 7, 34), who hit for the cycle on July 18.

Hitting for the cycle was not a prerequisite for making the All-Star team, although David Kandilas (.316, 3, 29, 12 stolen bases) of the Casper Ghosts accomplished the feat on June 24 and earned a spot in the outfield alongside Joc Pederson (.341, 10, 56, 21) of the Ogden Raptors.

Casper's William Swanner is the All-Star catcher after batting .267 with 10 homers and 23 RBIs.

The rest of the pitching staff is comprised of Idaho Falls Chukars teammates Aaron Brooks (5-1, 3.52) and Edwin Carl (3-1, 1.36, 5 saves).

Hector De La Cruz was rewarded for the Osprey's first-half title, earning Manager of the Year honors.

2011 Pioneer League Postseason All-Star Team
Position Players
C William Swanner Casper Colorado
1B Jonathan Griffin Missoula Arizona
2B Taylor Lindsey Orem Los Angeles (AL)
3B Sean Buckley Billings Cincinnati
SS Yadiel Rivera Helena Milwaukee
OF Joc Pederson Ogden Los Angeles (NL)
OF Ryan Jones Orem Los Angeles (AL)
OF David Kandilas Casper Colorado
DH Frazier Hall Orem Los Angeles (AL)
LHP Blair Walters Great Falls Chicago (AL)
RHP Raymond Hernandez Missoula Arizona
RHP Aaron Brooks Idaho Falls Kansas City
LHP Taylor Siemens Missoula Arizona
RHP Edwin Carl Idaho Falls Kansas City

Manager of the Year: Hector De La Cruz, Missoula
Ralph Nelles Award (MVP): Taylor Lindsey, Orem
Logan Hurlbert Award (Pitcher of the Year): Blair Walters, Great Falls

Daren Smith is an editor for