Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

K-Tribe's Massengill receives Falwell Award

September 17, 2007
GREENSBORO, N.C. -- Kinston Indians General Manager Shari Massengill has won the inaugural Calvin Falwell Award as the Carolina League Executive of the Year. The 2007 season marked Massengill's 11th season with the K-Tribe and second as General Manager.

"This award means a lot to our organization and I am honored to be selected out of such an elite group of General Managers in the Carolina League," Massengill said.

In full-season baseball's smallest city, the Indians welcomed 115,195 fans, the biggest attendance at Grainger Stadium since 2001 and the second biggest mark this decade. The attendance total eclipses last year's total attendance of 112,253 fans, even with twice as many rainouts as last year.

The K-Tribe also saw an increase in revenues across the board including ticket sales, concessions and sponsorship in 2007. Along with increases in attendance and revenues the K-Tribe increased their community involvement during the 2007 season by implementing the Tribe Tales reading program in local public schools and joining forces with the Lenoir County Boys and Girls club to help raise money and awareness.

"Kinston has one of the best small operations in all of Minor League Baseball," said League President John Hopkins. "We are very proud of the way Shari has built on that and made baseball in Kinston even better."

Massengill, a native of Kinston, has worked in a number of roles with the team during her tenure at Grainger Stadium including Director of Sales, Group Sales, and Assistant General Manager. She has played a large role in group sales, merchandise and was an instrumental member of the committee that designed the new picnic area at Grainger Stadium.

She and her husband Chris have one daughter, Reagan, who is 11 years old, and a son Miles, 2.

The Carolina League's Executive of the Year Award was named after long-time Lynchburg Hillcats President Calvin Falwell at last year's Winter Meetings in recognition of his 42 years of service on the CL Board of Directors. The voting is done by the league's managers, general managers, owners and the league president.