Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

RiverDogs' Sanchez highlights All-Stars

Yankees prospect leads all vote-getters in Sally League game
June 5, 2012
Marlins top pitching prospect Jose Fernandez and Yankees catcher Gary Sanchez headline some of the elite talent heading to Charleston for this year's South Atlantic League All-Star Game.

Sally League president Eric Krupa announced the rosters for the 53rd annual All-Star Game on Tuesday, with the host RiverDogs boasting Sanchez, fellow catcher Francisco Arcia, outfielder Tyler Austin and right-handers Bryan Mitchell and Pedro Guerra.

Charleston will host the game on June 19 at Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park, although the contest will also have plenty of Lexington flavor -- the Southern Division squad will feature seven Legends, including starting pitcher Michael Foltynewicz, second baseman Delino DeShields Jr., third baseman Matt Duffy and designated hitter Zachary Johnson.

For the Northern Division, the Greensboro Grasshoppers had a league-high eight representatives, including Fernandez, catcher Austin Barnes, center fielder Brent Keys and designated hitter Matt Smith. Hickory will send five players, including shortstop Hanser Alberto and left fielder Christopher Grayson. Hagerstown and Kannapolis will each provide four players, with Kannapolis' Rangel Ravelo starting at third base.

Charleston will dominate the Southern team's dugout with manager Carlos Mendoza bringing his staff along. Greensboro's David Berg will manage the Northern squad.

Sanchez, who received more votes than any other player on either squad, will be the starting catcher. Both All-Star teams will be represented by 26 players, selected by the votes of the team's managers and coaching staffs, local media and front office executives. The last time the All-Star Game was held in Charleston was in 2004, when the Southern Division defeated the Northern Division, 4-2. The annual SAL All-Star Game dates to 1960, when the All-Stars defeated the Salisbury club, 6-2, in Newton, N.C.

"Once again, the amount of talent that will be showcased in this game will be incredible," said Krupa. "The expectations of the fans are high, and I believe they will have a fun time during this exciting event. Executive vice president and general manager Dave Echols and his staff in Charleston have been working for more than a year to live up to the tradition and host one of the most anticipated events on our baseball calendar."

More information on the game can be found on the website of the Charleston RiverDogs at Full rosters for the game can be found below:

Northern Division All-Stars
Position Players
Austin Barnes C Greensboro
Wilfredo Gimenez* C Greensboro
Kevan Smith C Kannapolis
Nick Delmonico 1B Delmarva
Alen Hanson 2B West Virginia
Rangel Ravelo 3B Kannapolis
Hanser Alberto SS Hickory
Josh Adams INF Greensboro
Matthew Skole INF Hagerstown
Gregory Polanco RF West Virginia
Brent Keys CF Greensboro
Christopher Grayson LF Hickory
Mark Haddow OF Kannapolis
Caleb Ramsey OF Hagerstown
Matt Smith DH Greensboro
Jose Fernandez (SP) RHP Greensboro
Aaron Barrett RHP Hagerstown
Matt Benedict RHP West Virginia
Adam Conley LHP Greensboro
Phil Klein RHP Hickory
Colin Klevin RHP Lakewood
Nicholas Martinez RHP Hickory
Gregory Nappo LHP Greensboro
Victor Payano LHP Hickory
Blair Walters RHP Kannapolis
Field Staff
David Berg Manager Greensboro
Frank Moore* Coach Greensboro
Blake McGinley Coach Greensboro
Chris Olson* Athletic Trainer Greensboro
* Greensboro hitting coach Frank Moore has been named to replace Hagerstown manager Brian Daubach on the Northern Division staff. Greensboro pitcher Kevin Cravey will not play due to injury and will not be replaced on the roster. Greensboro catcher Wilfredo Gimenez was added to the roster as the third catcher to replace Hagerstown's Adrian Nieto, who is injured. Greensboro's Chris Olson will replace Delmarva's Will Lawhorn and handle the trainer's duties for the Northern squad.
Southern Division All-Stars
Position Players
Gary Sanchez C Charleston
William Swanner C Asheville
Francisco Arcia C Charleston
Harold Riggins 1B Asheville
Delino DeShields Jr. 2B Lexington
Matt Duffy 3B Lexington
T.J. Rivera SS Savannah
Garin Cecchini INF Greenville
Samuel Mende INF Asheville
Tyler Austin RF Charleston
Delta Cleary Jr. CF Asheville
Tyler Massey** LF Asheville
Travis Taijeron OF Savannah
Mason Williams** OF Charleston
Zachary Johnson DH Lexington
Michael Foltynewicz (SP) RHP Lexington
T.J. Chism LHP Savannah
David Filak RHP Rome
Pedro Guerra RHP Charleston
Cody Hall RHP Augusta
Bryan Mitchell RHP Charleston
Navery Moore RHP Rome
Miguel Pena LHP Greenville
Carlos Quevedo RHP Lexington
Nicholas Tropeano RHP Lexington
Field Staff
Carlos Mendoza Manager Charleston
Greg Colbrunn Coach Charleston
Brian Baisley Coach Charleston
Danny Borrell Coach Charleston
Jorge Vargas Athletic Trainer Charleston
** Pitcher Jason Chowning from Lexington has been promoted to Lancaster in the California League and has not been replaced on the roster. Greenville left fielder Keury De La Cruz will not play due to injury. Asheville's Tyler Masey has been moved to the left fielder position from his spot as a utility outfielder. Charleston's Mason Williams has been added to the roster as a utility outfielder.