Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

2013 Bluefield Blue Jays Opening Day roster released

June 14, 2013

The Bluefield Blue Jays opening day roster has been released, and this 2013 edition of the team will feature a few familiar faces.


Six players that have previously donned a Bluefield uniform are listed on this roster, including D.J. Davis, Alberto Tirado, Tom Robson, Eric Arce, Matt Dean and Melvin Garcia.


Davis was a first-round selection in the 2012 draft, and played briefly in Bluefield near the end of last season. Dean also played for the Bluefield club in 2012.


Garcia played for Bluefield in 2011 and did not play at all in 2012. Arce appeared with the Bluefield club briefly and 2011, and played for the team for most of 2012. Tirado, a highly-touted pitching prospect from the Dominican Republic, briefly played for Bluefield in 2012. Robson also a brief stop in Bluefield, pitching in three games last season.


Zak Wasilewski will be a member of this year's Bluefield club. He grew up and attended high school just a few minutes down the road from Bowen Field in Tazewell, Va. He was selected by Toronto in the 14th round of the 2012 draft. 


The club will have highly-touted pitching prospects, including Chase De Jong, a second-round pick in 2012, Tom Robson, a fourth-round selection in 2011, and Mark Biggs, an eighth-round pick in 2011. 


Former U.S. Air Force Academy catcher Garrett Custons, the only non-pitcher chosen in the first 12 rounds of this year's draft by Toronto, will also be joining the Bluefield team.


Dennis Holmberg, who returns for his third season with the club, will once again manage the team. Antonio Caceres is back for a third season as a pitching coach, and Ken Huckaby will be on board for his first season as the team's hitting coach.

The season opens on Thursday, June 20 against the Greeneville Astros at Bowen Field. Season and single-game tickets are currently available at Bowen Field. 


Complete roster:

Brett Barber
Mark Biggs
Adonys Cardona
Shane Dawson
Chase De Jong
Yeyfry Del Rosario
Brady Dragmire
Francisco Gracesqui
Adaric Kelly
Jairo LeBour
Tom Robson
Scott Silverstein
Alberto Tirado
Zak Wasilewski

Garrett Custons
Jorge Saez
John Silviano

Matt Dean
Timothy Locastro
Dawel Lugo
Alexis Maldonado
Mitch Nay
Angel Rojas

DJ Davis
Jonathan Davis
Melvin Garcia
Jesus Gonzalez
DJ Jones
Derrick Loveless