Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

PCL reveals Triple-A All-Star roster

Thirty of the circuit's top players to represent league in Reno
July 2, 2013

The Pacific Coast League announced its roster Tuesday for the 2013 Triple-A All-Star Game to be held in Reno, Nev. on July 17.

A total of 30 players -- 12 of them pitchers -- fill out the PCL roster, with 13 elected by fans and 17 selected by league managers and officials.

Round Rock (Rangers), currently tied with Albuquerque (Dodgers) for the second-best record in the league, are represented by four players, the most of any club. Host Reno (Diamondbacks), the reigning league champions, contributed three -- including starting shortstop Chris Owings and third baseman Matt Davidson -- to go along with manager Brett Butler and athletic trainer Joe Metz.

Tucson (Padres), Sacramento (Athletics) and Fresno (Giants) also sent three players apiece, while Tacoma (Mariners), Memphis (Cardinals) and Oklahoma City (Astros) each contributed a pair. Albuquerque, Colorado Springs (Rockies), Iowa (Cubs), Las Vegas (Mets), Nashville (Brewers), New Orleans (Marlins), Omaha (Royals) and Salt Lake (Angels) each have a single representative.

The league's leading hitter, Corey Dickerson of Colorado Springs, is missing from the squad due to his promotion to the Rockies. Memphis' Brock Peterson, who leads the circuit with 19 long balls, is slated to start at first base for the PCL All-Stars.

Like Dickerson, league ERA leader Johnny Hellweg of Nashville is missing after his promotion to Milwaukee, but strikeout leader Sonny Gray of Sacramento joins Oklahoma City's Jarred Cosart as the two starting pitchers elected by fans. The two rank fourth and third, respectively, in ERA.

Since the event began in 1988, 77 Triple-A All-Stars have gone on to play in the Major League All-Star Game, including Derek Jeter, Pedro Martinez, Mike Piazza, Chase Utley and Joey Votto.

Between 1988 and 1997, the game pitted American League-affiliated All-Stars against their National League counterparts, with the latter winning six of the 10 games. The IL and PCL have squared off in 15 games since 1998, with the International League winning eight, including seven of the last 10. The PCL won last year's showdown in Buffalo, 3-0, with Wil Myers -- then with Omaha, now with the Tampa Bay Rays -- earning MVP honors.

1B Brock Peterson Memphis STL
2B Wilmer Flores Las Vegas NYM
3B Matt Davidson Reno ARI
SS Chris Owings Reno ARI
OF Michael Choice Sacramento OAK
OF Joey Butler Round Rock TEX
OF Nick Buss Albuquerque LAD
DH Brett Pill Fresno SF
SP Jarred Cosart Oklahoma City HOU
RP Chris Hatcher New Orleans MIA
RP Rob Wooten Nashville MIL
C Johnny Monell Fresno SF  
C Tuffy Gosewisch Reno ARI  
INF Efren Navarro Salt Lake ANA  
INF Yangervis Solarte Round Rock TEX  
INF Dean Anna Tucson SD  
INF Ryan Wheeler Colorado Springs COL  
OF Carlos Peguero Tacoma SEA  
OF Roger Kieschnick Fresno SF  
P Brad Mills Round Rock TEX  
P Michael Wacha Memphis STL  
P Chris Rusin Iowa CHC  
P Brian Moran Tacoma SEA  
P Colt Hynes Tucson SD  
P Louis Coleman Omaha KC  
P Jason Stoffel Oklahoma City HOU  
Manager Brett Butler Reno ARI
Coach Pat Rice Fresno SF
Coach Damon Minor New Orleans MIA
Trainer Joe Metz Reno ARI

Note: Cory Burns (Round Rock), Sonny Gray (Sacramento), Grant Green (Sacramento), Rene Rivera (Tucson) have been removed from the roster; no replacements have been announced.

John Parker is an editor for