Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Tulsa's Anderson earns Texas League honors

Rockies left-hander earns Pitcher of the Year behind 2.08 ERA
August 28, 2014

It wouldn't have been a bad bet to expect a Tulsa starting pitcher to take home Pitcher of the Year honors at the start of the season. Tyler Anderson might not have been the favorite, but on Thursday, the left-hander nabbed the hardware anyway.

The Rockies' No. 12 prospect was named the Texas League's Pitcher of the Year after setting career highs for starts, ERA and strikeouts. Also picking up honors was Angels infield prospect Alex Yarbrough, who was named the Texas League's Most Valuable Player.

Anderson began the season sharing the Drillers' rotation with top prospects Jon Gray and Eddie Butler, as well as breakout performer Daniel Winkler. Gray went on to have a strong-but-unspectacular season, Butler missed time due to injury and Winkler -- the league's best pitcher in the first half -- underwent Tommy John surgery in June.

And so Anderson was left to be the rock in Tulsa's rotation. The 24-year-old has been up to the task, posting a 2.08 ERA in 22 starts with 100 strikeouts in 112 1/3 innings. He has been especially good down the stretch, posting a 1.66 ERA in 11 second-half starts.

The 2011 first-round pick (20th overall) projected as a fast-moving starter when he was drafted, but the Oregon product was held back by injuries for his first few pro seasons. He kept his health through 2014, though, avoiding the disabled list until this week, when Colorado put him on the seven-day DL with an undisclosed injury. The Denver Post reported that there isn't a serious injury, though, and the team is just resting him for the Drillers' postseason run.

Yarbrough, ranked eighth in the Angels' system, provided Arkansas with a jolt of offense from a premium defensive position. The second baseman has hit .285 with a league-leading 38 doubles. Yarbrough's been especially good down the stretch, hitting .293 in August as the Travelers locked up the Texas League North Division second-half title.

Among the other All-Stars are three Frisco RoughRiders, including Rangers' top prospect Joey Gallo. The third baseman was also named MVP of the Carolina League on Thursday, hitting 21 homers in Class A Advanced before clubbing another 20 in Double-A.

2014 Texas League Postseason All-Star Team
Cody Stanley C Springfield STL
Trever Adams 1B Frisco TEX
Alex Yarbrough * 2B Arkansas LAA
Joey Gallo 3B Frisco TEX
Cristhian Adames SS Tulsa COL
Taylor Featherston UTIL Tulsa COL
Odubel Herrera UTIL Frisco TEX
Lane Adams OF Northwest Arkansas KC
Yeison Asencio OF San Antonio SD
James Ramsey OF Springfield STL
Preston Tucker OF Corpus Christi HOU
Brian Hernandez DH Arkansas LAA
Tyler Anderson P Tulsa COL
Cam Bedrosian P Arkansas LAA
Andy Ferguson P Northwest Arkansas KC
Chris Jensen P Midland OAK
James Needy P San Antonio SD
Michael Roth P Arkansas LAA
Tommy Shirley P Corpus Christi HOU
Jason Wood Manager Frisco TEX
Jeff Andrews Coach Frisco TEX
* Player of the Year
† Pitcher of the Year

Jake Seiner is a contributor to Follow him on Twitter at @Jake_Seiner.