Goldschmidt, Flaherty named All-Stars

Sluggers to face off in Southern League All-Star Game

Paul Goldschmidt leads the league with 20 homers and 57 RBIs. (Tony Farlow/

By Danny Wild / | June 8, 2011 8:51 AM

NEW YORK -- It's taken several days, but fans are finally getting a feel for who will make the trip to Jackson, Tenn., later this month.

The league's top two sluggers, Paul Goldschmidt and Ryan Flaherty, were among those selected this week to the 2011 Southern League All-Star Game, which will be played June 21 at Pringles Park. The league has revealed the rosters in pieces this week, unveiling the coaches and umpires on Monday before detailing the North and South rosters Tuesday and Wednesday.

Goldschmidt, the D-backs' top first base prospect, leads the Southern League with 20 homers and 57 RBIs in 60 games at Double-A Mobile, ripping a two-run homer Wednesday afternoon in the wake of the announcement. His .349 average ranks third in the league behind Tennessee's DJ LeMahieu and Birmingham's Tyler Kuhn.

LaMahieu, who hit .358 in 50 games, was nominated for the All-Star team but has since been promoted to the Majors. Kuhn's .362 mark leads the circuit.

The Smokies' Flaherty, batting .311, is tied for second in the league with 12 homers and 52 RBIs. Jackson fans will see some familiar faces on the field, including the Southern League's ERA leader, Andrew Carraway, who is 4-0 with a 2.44 ERA for the Mariners' Double-A affiliate.

Jackson will send six players (Kyle Seager, Brett Jackson, Jarrett Grube, Kenn Kasparek, Erasmo Ramirez and Carraway) and three coaches to the game, including manager Jim Pankovits.

Below are the full rosters, honorable mentions and the umpire crew for the game:

2011 Southern League All-Star Teams
North Division All-Star Team
South Division All-Star Team
Position Players
Steve Clevenger* C Tennessee Luke Montz* C Jacksonville
Blake Lalli C Tennessee Stephen Vogt C Montgomery
Scott Van Slyke* 1B Chattanooga Paul Goldschmidt* 1B Mobile
Kyle Seager* 2B Jackson Tyler Kuhn* 2B Birmingham
Steffan Wilson* 3B Huntsville Daniel Mayora* 3B Montgomery
Marwin Gonzalez* SS Tennessee Tyler Pastornicky* SS Mississippi
Brett Jackson OF Tennessee Ollie Linton* OF Mobile
Erik Komatsu* OF Huntsville Kevin Mattison* OF Jacksonville
Jake Shaffer* OF Jackson A.J. Pollock* OF Mobile
Matt Spencer* OF Tennessee Marc Krauss^ OF Mobile
Rebel Ridling* DH Tennessee Christian Marrero* DH Birmingham
Ryan Flaherty UTIL IF Tennessee Taylor Harbin UTIL IF Mobile
Kyle Russell UTIL OF Chattanooga Brandon Short UTIL OF Birmingham
Brad Boxberger RHP Carolina Dylan Axelrod RHP Birmingham
Andrew Carraway RHP Jackson Paul Clemens RHP Mississippi
Cole St. Clair LHP Chattanooga Randall Delgado RHP Mississippi
Rafael Dolis RHP Tennessee Marquis Fleming RHP Montgomery
Nathan Eovaldi RHP Chattanooga Chris Hatcher RHP Jacksonville
Jarrett Grube* RHP Jackson J.J. Hoover RHP Mississippi
Michael Antonini^ LHP Chattanooga Charles Leesman LHP Birmingham
Daniel Meadows LHP Huntsville Matt Moore* LHP Montgomery
Bobby LaFrombois^ LHP Jackson Brett Oberholtzer LHP Mississippi
Erasmo Ramirez RHP Jackson Dan Remenowsky RHP Birmingham
Will Savage RHP Chattanooga Wes Roemer RHP Mobile
Wily Peralta^ RHP Huntsville Sandy Rosario RHP Jacksonville
Coaching Staffs
Jim Pankovits Mgr. Jackson Andy Barkett Mgr. Jacksonville
Cory Snyder Hitting Jackson Corey Hart Hitting Jacksonville
Lance Painter Pitching Jackson John Duffy Pitching Jacksonville

* denotes starter.

^ denotes editor's notes: On June 10, the league announced that North Division pitchers Kenn Kasparek (Jackson), Trey McNutt (Tennessee) and Robert Whitenack (Tennessee) would not be participating in the All-Star Game. They were replaced by Michael Antonini (Chattanooga), Bobby LaFrombois (Jackson) and Wily Peralta (Huntsville).

The league also announced that South Division outfielder Alex Romero (Jacksonville) would be replaced by Marc Krauss (Mobile).

Honorable mention: The following players were nominated for the All-Star Teams because they were on Southern League rosters when the ballots went out May 20. However, they have since been promoted out of the League as follows:

North Division:

Marco Carrillo, RHP, Tennessee Smokies — promoted to Triple-A Iowa Cubs
Nick Christiani, RHP, Carolina Mudcats — promoted to Triple-A Louisville Bats
Rubby De La Rosa, RHP, Chattanooga Lookouts — promoted to Los Angeles Dodgers
Matt Klinker, RHP, Carolina Mudcats — promoted to Triple-A Louisville Bats
DJ LeMahieu, 2B, Tennessee Smokies — promoted to Chicago Cubs

South Division:

Brad Hand, LHP, Jacksonville Suns — promoted to Florida Marlins
Bryan Shaw, RHP, Mobile BayBears — promoted to Triple-A Reno Aces
Matt Zaleski, RHP, Birmingham Barons — promoted to Triple-A Charlotte Knights


• Jason Cooksey (Crew Chief)
• Sean Barber
• Travis Carlson
• Anthony Johnson

Danny Wild is an editor for This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More