Gomez, Cloyd highlight IL All-Stars

Dave Miley of homeless Yankees named Manager of Year

By John Parker / MLB.com | August 28, 2012 8:11 AM ET

The Triple-A International League announced its postseason All-Star Team and Award Winners on Tuesday. Pawtucket led the way with three honorees: catcher Ryan Lavarnway, shortstop Jose Iglesias, and designated hitter Mauro Gomez, who was also named the circuit's Most Valuable Player.

After leading the IL in total bases with Gwinnett last year, Gomez was even better this season, posting a .310/.371/.589 line with 24 homers and 74 RBIs in 100 games. He leads the league in slugging and OPS and ranks in the top four in batting, home runs, RBIs and doubles despite spending significant time in the Majors.

The Most Valuable Pitcher award went to Lehigh Valley right-hander Tyler Cloyd. The 25-year-old Phillies prospect, after going 3-0 in the Double-A Eastern League, proved dominant in his first Triple-A campaign. Cloyd is 12-1 with a 2.35 ERA and has held IL hitters to a .210 average. He leads the league in ERA and WHIP and is tied for the overall Minor League lead with 15 victories.

IL West champs Indianapolis was represented by outfielder Starling Marte and reliever Tim Wood, while Syracuse contributed third baseman Carlos Rivero and outfielder Corey Brown.

Columbus (second baseman Cord Phelps), Durham (outfielder Leslie Anderson), Charlotte (utility man Dan Johnson), Lehigh Valley (Cloyd), and Gwinnett (first baseman Ernesto Mejia) had one player apiece named to the squad. Mejia, who leads the league in RBIs, is the circuit's Rookie of the Year.

Scranton/Wilkes-Barre's Dave Miley was named the Manager of the Year. Miley, who also won the award in 2007, has guided the Yankees to the second-best record in the league thus far despite lacking an All-Star player and a home -- the Yankees spent the entire season on the road while PNC Field was being refurbished.

Most Valuable Player: Mauro Gomez, Pawtucket (BOS)
Most Valuable Pitcher: Tyler Cloyd, Lehigh Valley (PHI)
Rookie of the Year: Ernesto Mejia, Gwinnett (ATL)
Manager of the Year: Dave Miley, Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (NYY)

International League Postseason All-Stars
Ryan Lavarnway C Pawtucket BOS
Ernesto Mejia 1B Gwinnett ATL
Cord Phelps 2B Columbus CLE
Carlos Rivero 3B Syracuse WAS
Jose Iglesias SS Pawtucket BOS
Leslie Anderson OF Durham TB
Corey Brown OF Syracuse WAS
Starling Marte OF Indianapolis PIT
Dan Johnson UT Charlotte CWS
Mauro Gomez DH Pawtucket BOS
Tyler Cloyd SP Lehigh Valley PHI
Tim Wood RP Indianapolis PIT

John Parker is a contributor to MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More