Harvey, McGuire among FSL All-Stars

Sojo, Morrison selected to manage clubs in June 18 game

Deck McGuire and Matt Harvey will face off in the 50th All-Star Game. (Mark LoMoglio/MiLB.com)

By Danny Wild / MLB.com | June 2, 2011 2:00 PM

ACC rivals and 2010 first-round picks Matt Harvey and Deck McGuire were among those selected Thursday to play in the 2011 Florida State League All-Star Game.

The league announced rosters for the June 18 exhibition in Clearwater, Fla., the 50th anniversary of a game that will showcase the best of the league's North and South Divisions at Bright House Field. Yankees manager Luis Sojo will lead the North squad, while Charlotte's Jim Morrison will manage the South.

Harvey, the Mets' top pick last year, is one of seven right-handers selected to anchor the South's roster, joining fellow St. Lucie pitchers Darin Gorski, Jeff Kaplan and Scott Moviel. Bradenton's Kyle McPherson and Brett Lorin will team with Jupiter's A.J. Ramos and Jose Alvarez, and Palm Beach's Joe Kelly.

McGuire, the Blue Jays' top pick 12 months ago, is one of five Dunedin players selected to the North squad, joining catcher A.J. Jimenez, right-hander Nestor Molina and outfielders Brad Glenn and Justin Jackson.

The hometown Threshers will be well represented, of course, with catcher Sebastian Valle selected along with three of his right-handed battery mates, Jonathan Pettibone, Justin Friend and Julio Rodriguez.

Daytona's Justin Bour, tied with Glenn as the league-leader with 14 homers, join Tampa's Rob Lyerly, who has just three homers but ranks second in the circuit with 42 RBIs.

Bradenton's Jarek Cunningham's 11 homers are the most among South Division All-Stars. He's joined on the bench by fellow Marauders Ramon Cabrera and Aaron Baker.

Palm Beach's Shelby Miller, promoted to Double-A Springfield on Wednesday, was selected to the South's team but will not attend. Neither will Fort Myers' Bruce Pugh as he is in New Britain.

Full rosters are below:

2011 Florida State League All-Star teams
North Division All-Star Team
South Division All-Star Team
Jonathan Pettibone RHP Clearwater Matt Harvey RHP St. Lucie
Julio Rodriguez RHP Clearwater Alex Colome RHP Charlotte
Nick Bucci RHP Brevard County Josh Satow LHP Charlotte
Wes Etheridge RHP Dunedin A.J. Ramos RHP Jupiter
Frank Batista RHP Daytona Jose Alvarez LHP Jupiter
Jarred Cosart* RHP Dunedin Joe Kelly RHP Palm Beach
Trevor May* RHP Clearwater Jeff Kaplan RHP St. Lucie
Kenny Faulk LHP Lakeland Darin Gorski LHP St. Lucie
Aaron Kurcz RHP Daytona Scott Moviel RHP St. Lucie
Deck McGuire RHP Dunedin Dakota Watts* RHP Fort Myers
Position Players
A.J. Jimenez C Dunedin Danny Rams C Fort Myers
Julio Rodriguez C Lakeland Ramon Cabrera C Bradenton
Mike Brenly* C Daytona Miguel Fermin C Jupiter
Justin Bour INF Daytona Jarek Cunningham INF Bradenton
Matt Cerda* INF Daytona Hak-Ju Lee INF Charlotte
Rob Lyerly INF Tampa Tyler Bortnick INF Charlotte
Scooter Gennett INF Brevard County Aaron Baker INF Bradenton
Gustavo Nunez INF Lakeland Greg Sexton INF Charlotte
Evan Crawford OF Daytona Matt den Dekker OF St. Lucie
Khris Davis OF Brevard County Kyle Jensen OF Jupiter
Bradley Glenn OF Dunedin Edgar Lara OF Palm Beach
Justin Jackson OF Dunedin Brett Nommensen OF Charlotte
Tony Plagman DH Lakeland Pedro Zapata DH St. Lucie
Luis Sojo Mgr. Tampa Jim Morrison Mgr. Charlotte
Mario Garza Coach Tampa Joe Szekely Coach Charlotte
Noriyosh Omichi Coach Tampa Steve "Doc" Watson Coach Charlotte
Justin Turner Coach Tampa
Noriyosh Omichi Coach Tampa
Scott DiFranseca Trainer Tampa Kris Russell Trainer Charlotte
Jay Signoreli Strength Tampa Eddie Young Strength Charlotte

The following players were first-team selections but are unavailable to play due to promotion:

Shelby Miller, RHP, Palm Beach (South)
Bruce Pugh, RHP, Fort Myers (South)

* On June 16, the Florida State League announced the following changes to the All-Star Game rosters. In the North Division, Dunedin pitcher Nestor Molina (injured) will be replaced by Clearwater's Jarred Cosart. Clearwater pitcher Justin Friend (promoted) will be replaced by teammate Trevor May. Clearwater catcher Sebastian Valle (injured) will be replaced by Daytona catcher Mike Brenly. Daytona infielder Junior Lake (promoted) will be replaced by former teammate Matt Cerda.

In the South Division, Bradenton pitcher Kyle McPherson (promoted) will be replaced by Charlotte's Alex Colome. Bradenton's Brett Lorin (injured) will be replaced by Fort Myers' Dakota Watts. Finally, Fort Myers infielder Brian Dozier (promoted) will be replaced by Charlotte infielder Tyler Bortnick.


Home Plate — Brian de Brauwere
First Base — Nic Lentz
Second Base — Ramon De Jesus
Third Base — Nick Mahrley

Danny Wild is an editor for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More