Iowa Cubs 2010 Opening Day Roster

The roster features nine players from Chicago's 40-man roster

Bobby Scales

By Iowa Cubs | April 5, 2010 11:03 AM ET

The Iowa Cubs have released their 2010 Opening Day roster.

The 2010 roster features nine players from Chicago's 40-man roster and 12 returning players from last season.

Among the returners is the Iowa Cubs' 2009 MVP, catcher Chris Robinson. Robinson was also Iowa's lone representative at the 2009 Triple-A All Star game. Outfielder Sam Fuld, who led Iowa with 11 outfield assists in 2009 is also on Iowa's Opening Day roster. J.R. Mathes, who received Iowa's 2009 Pitcher of the Year honors returns to the staff. Last season the southpaw led the team with 12 wins, which was also third-best in the 16-team Pacific Coast League.

Joining Mathes as returning pitchers are righties Mitch Atkins, Jeff Stevens and Blake Parker and lefty John Gaub. Rounding out the pitching staff will be newcomers Jeff Gray, Casey Coleman, Scott Maine, Brian Schlitter, Thomas Diamond, Jay Jackson and Mike Parisi.

Handling catching duties for the Cubs will be Welington Castillo, veteran Mark Johnson, and Robinson. Johnson will open the season on the disabled list.

The versatile infield includes Darwin Barney, Matt Camp, Micah Hoffpauir, Marquez Smith, Bryan LaHair and Bobby Scales, who made his Major League debut last season with Chicago.

Fuld will be joined by Jim Adduci, Jason Dubois and Brad Snyder in the outfield.

Manager Ryne Sandberg enters his first season as the I-Cubs skipper, while hitting coach Von Joshua returns for his fifth season and Mike Mason begins his third season as Iowa's pitching coach. Trainer Matt Johnson begins his third season in Des Moines.

The Cubs open the 2010 season Thursday, April 8 vs the Nashville Sounds, AAA affiliate of the Milwaukee Brewers at 6:35 p.m. at Principal Park. The Cubs' play the University of Iowa in an exhibition game April 7 at Principal Park beginning at 6:35 p.m. Tickets are available by calling the Iowa Cubs at 515-243-6111 or visiting

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More