Isotopes Unveil 2011 Opening Day Roster!

April 4, 2011 4:35 PM ET

The Albuquerque Isotopes have announced their 2011 roster for Opening Day, a group that combines players 'Topes fans have grown to love with some of the best young prospects in the Los Angeles Dodgers organization.

Back to defend his 2010 Pacific Coast League batting title is infielder John Lindsey, who returns to Albuquerque coming off his Major League debut last fall in what became one of the feel-good stories in all of baseball. Also returning to the Isotopes this year are a host of fan-favorites, including infielders Russ Mitchell and Justin Sellers, catcher J.D. Closser, and outfielders Jamie Hoffmann and Trent Oeltjen.

Familiar faces abound on the mound as well, with Scott Elbert, John Ely, Jon Link, Carlos Monasterios, Travis Schlichting, and Ramon Troncoso, all of whom saw significant action with the Dodgers a year ago, starting the season in Albuquerque.

Joining the group of veterans is a crop of highly-touted young prospects that should make an immediate impact. According to Baseball America, four of the top 10 prospects in the Dodgers organization will begin the 2011 season in Albuquerque. Leading the way is shortstop Dee Gordon, considered by many to be the number one prospect in the Dodgers chain. Outfielder Jerry Sands (rated sixth), Elbert (seventh) and outfielder Trayvon Robinson join Gordon for what might be the most prospect-laden team in Isotopes history.

The 'Topes will take the field at Isotopes Park in the season opener on April 7 at 6:35 PM against the Omaha Storm Chasers, Triple-A affiliate of the Kansas City Royals.

After the Storm Chasers blow through town, the 'Topes will welcome the Iowa Cubs, Triple-A affiliate of the Chicago Cubs to The Lab for four games in what will comprise an eight-game, season-opening homestand. Tickets for any Isotopes game may be purchased at the Isotopes Park Box Office, at Ticketmaster outlets, by phone at 1-800-745-3000, or on-line at or

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More