Karns Leads Suns in Sweep of Hickory

May 16, 2012 9:11 AM ET

Hickory, NC - The Hagerstown Suns (21-15) completed a three-game sweep of the Hickory Crawdads (19-17), winning the final game of the series 8-6 at L.P. Frans Stadium in Hickory, North Carolina on Wednesday afternoon.

Right fielder Steven Souza enjoyed a second consecutive three-hit game for the Suns and drove in four runs. He blasted his second solo home run in as many games and now has seven on the season, which is second on the team behind Matt Skole's eight. Skole drove in his SAL leading 41st RBI of the season, while first baseman Brett Newsome hit his fourth long-ball of the year and finished the game 2-for-3 with an RBI.

Suns starting pitcher Nathan Karns (1-0) earned his first win, pitching six innings and allowing two runs while striking out five batters and not allowing a walk. Reliever Aaron Barrett got the final two outs of the game after lefty Bobby Lucas recorded the last out of the eight and the first out of the ninth inning, both against left-handed hitters.

Hickory starter Luke Jackson (2-4) suffered the loss allowing six runs on six over two innings of work. Left fielder Jeremy Williams had two RBIs to lead the Crawdads offense while shortstop Hanser Alberto went 2-for-4 with a run batted in.

The Suns will now travel back to Hagerstown for a seven-game home-stand, beginning with a four-game series versus the Delmarva Shorebirds, affiliate of the Baltimore Orioles. Game one at Municipal Stadium is on a Thirsty Thursday, presented by Benny's Pub, at 7:05 p.m. when righty Brian Dupra (2-3) makes the start for the home team. He'll be opposed by Delmarva's RHP Zach Davies (2-1).

Throughout the month of May all kids' seats, ages 13 and under, are just $5.00! Suns individual game tickets, season tickets, mini-plans, and group packages are on sale now. For more information and to reserve your seat at Municipal Stadium, call 301-791-6266, or www.hagerstownsuns.com. The Hagerstown Suns are owned by Hagerstown Baseball, LLC.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More