LaPorta, Eaton leading Triple-A voting

Fans can continue casting votes for All-Stars until June 22

By Danny Wild / | May 31, 2012 7:22 AM ET

After a week of voting, the Triple-A All-Star lineups have a mix of veterans and prospects as early front-runners.

Vote for Triple-A All-Stars »

Major League veteran Matt LaPorta of Columbus leads all Triple-A and International League vote-getters, while fellow outfielder Adam Eaton of Reno ranks second overall and No. 1 in the Pacific Coast League.

Sacramento's Brandon Moss (DH), Reno's Trevor Bauer (RHP) and Columbus' Lonnie Chisenhall (3B) round out the top five players from both leagues receiving votes.

The IL has some interesting positional matchups, with Red Sox prospect Ryan Lavarnway holding a very thin lead over veteran Yankees backstop Francisco Cervelli, who spent last season in the Majors but is with road warriors Scranton/Wilkes-Barre this year.

Mets veteran Valentino Pascucci of Buffalo has a nice lead over the Minors' top home run hitter, Toledo's Brad Elred, for the race at designated hitter in the IL, while the Yankees' Steve Pearce tops the list at first over Lehigh Valley's Cody Overbeck and Buffalo's Josh Satin.

Columbus' Cord Phelps (2B) and Buffalo's Omar Quintanilla (SS) round out the IL's infield for now, with Bisons ace Matt Harvey and Lehigh Valley's Tyler Cloyd ranking among the top starting pitcher vote-getters.

Syracuse's Corey Brown -- recently promoted to Washington -- and Buffalo's Matt Tuiasosopo join LaPorta in the outfield. Chris Bootcheck (Toledo) and Chase Whitley (Scranton/Wilkes-Barre) hold the lead in the IL bullpen.

With four Bisons leading at their positions, it will be up to Buffalo fans to keep the pace for their hometown players as the Bisons aim for bragging rights when they host the Triple-A All-Star Game on July 11.

In the PCL, Blue Jays top prospect Travis d'Arnaud of Las Vegas owns the lead behind the plate, while Sacramento's Moss has a huge lead over Omaha's Max Ramirez at DH. Ramirez, however, ranks No. 6 overall in total votes.

Cubs top prospect Anthony Rizzo of Iowa leads all first basemen, while Jake Elmore (Reno, 2B), Adeiny Hechavarria (Las Vegas, SS) and Ryan Wheeler (Reno, 3B) round out the PCL infield thus far. Roger Kieschnick (Fresno) and Scott Van Slyke (Albuquerque) join Eaton in the outfield.

Fresno's Eric Hacker is second to Bauer in the PCL's starting pitcher voting, while Jonathan Albaladejo (Reno) and Chad Beck (Las Vegas) lead all PCL relievers.

Voting, which is being held exclusively on, ends at 11:59 p.m. EDT on Friday, June 22. The fan vote will count for one-third (33 percent) of a player's total and will be added to the votes of media (33 percent) and Triple-A Field/General Managers (33 percent) to select the starting players. Fans also have the option of including write-in candidates. Reno's A.J. Pollock currently has the most write-in votes but does not yet rank among PCL position leaders.

Danny Wild is an editor for This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More