LouSeal in, Orbit out for Mascot finals

Pair of Giants mascots set to battle for championship belt

Fans can vote on MiLB.com and on Twitter by following @MiLB and tweeting #MascotMania.

By Danny Wild / MiLB.com | August 1, 2013 2:37 PM ET

LouSeal's upset win highlighted several late comebacks in Mascot Mania's first round, but things are about to really heat up as fans help decide the Minors' best mascot.

The Clippers' mascot -- round one's top vote-getter -- pulled ahead of early International League contenders like Toledo's Muddy the Mud Hen and Syracuse's Scooch to advance to the championship round of Mascot Mania, a contest that saw mascots from all 160 Minor League teams battle it out for pride, bragging rights and a championship belt. LouSeal is now one of 14 mascots who will compete for the crown as voting runs from Aug. 1-8 on MiLB.com and Twitter.

One notable mascot will not be around to defend his title, though -- Albuquerque's Orbit, who claimed victory in last year's inaugural Mascot Mania, came up short and finished No. 4 among Pacific Coast League contenders. The belt, proudly worn and displayed at Isotopes Park for a year, is officially up for grabs.

Looking at the Championship Round, LouSeal would appear to be a favorite based on his dominance the past two weeks, although being a seal during Shark Week (and going up against Clearwater's Phinley) may make for bad omens. The finals will feature a battle of beloved San Francisco Giants affiliated-mascots, with San Jose's Gigante temporarily putting his friendship with Fresno's Parker on hold. (It's worth noting that Gigante, who claims to weigh as much as 5,000 bananas, also listed LouSeal as one of his close friends prior to Mascot Mania).

The finals include a pair of relatively new mascots, with Hillsboro's Barley only two months old and Pensacola's Kazoo joining the Minors in 2012. The Championship Round features three birds in Aberdeen's Ferrous, Princeton's Roscoe and Myrtle Beach's sunglasses-wearing Splash Pelican. There's also a matchup of Great Falls' Orbit, who has arguably the largest eyes of any mascot, going up against Erie's C. Wolf, who has only one eye.

And really, what can you say about a college-educated jalapeño wearing a hat? San Antonio's Ballapeno will hope to rally the entire state of Texas behind him. 

Here's a look at how things shook out in each of the 14 leagues:

First Round voting results, top 3
Team Mascot
International League  
Columbus Clippers LouSeal
Syracuse Chiefs Scooch
Gwinnett Braves Chopper
Pacific Coast League  
Fresno Grizzlies Parker
Round Rock Express Spike
Sacramento RiverCats Dinger
Southern League  
Pensacola Blue Wahoos Kazoo
Montgomery Biscuits Big Mo
Tennessee Smokies Slugger
Eastern League  
Erie SeaWolves C. Wolf
Portland Sea Dogs Slugger the Sea Dog
Altoona Curve Steamer
Texas League  
San Antonio Missions Ballapeno
Tulsa Drillers Hornsby
Northwest Arkansas Naturals Sinker the Lake Creature
Florida State League  
Clearwater Threshers Phinley
Tampa Yankees Blue
Lakeland Flying Tigers Ace
California League  
San Jose Giants Gigante
Modesto Nuts Wally the Walnut
Rancho Cucamonga Quakes Tremor
Carolina League  
Myrtle Beach Pelicans Splash Pelican
Carolina Mudcats Muddy the Mudcat
Wilmington Blue Rocks Rocky Bluewinkle
Midwest League  
Peoria Chiefs Homer
Great Lakes Loons Lou E. Loon
West Michigan Whitecaps Crash the River Rascal
South Atlanric League  
Savannah Sand Gnats Gnate the Gnat
West Virginia Power Chuck
Greensboro Grasshoppers Guilford the Grasshopper
New York-Penn League  
Aberdeen Ironbirds Ferrous
Brooklyn Cyclones Sandy the Seagull
Vermont Lake Monsters Champ
Northwest League  
Hillsboro Hops Barley
Eugene Emeralds Sluggo
Spokane Indians Otto The Spokanasaurus
Appalachian League  
Princeton Rays Roscoe, The Princeton Ray Rooster
Johnson City Cardinals Jay Cee
Pulaski Mariners Slyder
Pioneer League  
Great Falls Voyagers Orbit
Missoula Osprey Ollie Osprey
Orem Owlz Hootz

Fans can vote on MiLB.com and on Twitter by following @MiLB and tweeting #MascotMania along with the Twitter handle of the team whose mascot they'd like to vote for.

When fans vote online or via Twitter, they can also enter for a chance to win a 2014 MLB.TV Premium subscription, a 2014 MiLB.TV yearly subscription, gift certificates for the MLB and MiLB shops and a mascot prize pack, among other prizes.

Danny Wild is an editor for MiLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More