Scrappers and Indians Renew Player Development Contract

Agreement Extended Through 2012

By Mahoning Valley Scrappers | September 8, 2010 11:22 AM ET

NILES, OH - The Mahoning Valley Scrappers announced that the Player Development Contract (PDC) with the Cleveland Indians has been extended for a period of two years keeping the Scrappers affiliated with the Indians through the 2012 season. The Scrappers have been affiliated with the Indians since the inaugural season in 1999.

"We are excited to continue our great relationship with the Indians and working together to produce a quality product both on and off the field," stated Scrappers General Manager, Dave Smith. "The Indians continue to show a commitment to building a strong farm system which gives local fans the opportunity to see future major league talent."

Forty-six former Scrappers have played in the major leagues, 21 of which are currently on active MLB rosters, including C.C Sabathia, Victor Martinez, Ben Francisco, Kevin Kouzmanoff, and Ryan Church. Nine former Scrappers are on the Indians active roster including Fausto Carmona, Jensen Lewis, Tony Sipp, Josh Tomlin, Chris Gimenez, Jordan Brown, and Trevor Crowe. Asdrubal Cabrera and Mitch Talbot, also on the Indians active roster, played in Mahoning Valley during the 2010 season on rehabilitation assignments.

PLAYER (CURRENT MLB TEAM) Year with Scrappers
Josh Bard (SEA) 2001
Jordan Brown (CLE) 2005
Asdrubal Cabrera (CLE) 2010
Fausto Carmona (CLE) 2002
Ryan Church (ARZ) 2000
Trevor Crowe (CLE) 2005
Eric Crozier 2000
Kyle Denney 1999, 2005
Einar Diaz 2002
Ryan Drese 1999
Chad Durbin (PHI) 2003
Mike Edwards 2001
Ben Francisco (PHI) 2002
Ryan Garko 2003
Chris Gimenez (CLE) 2004
David Huff 2006
Joseph Inglett (MIL) 2000
Kevin Kouzmanoff (OAK) 2003, 2005
Aaron Laffey 2004
Juan Lara 2003
Scott Lewis 2004-2005
Jensen Lewis (CLE) 2005
Hector Luna (FLA) 2000
Chris Magruder 2003
JD Martin 2006
Victor Martinez (BOS) 1999
John McDonald (TOR) 2000, 2003
Marshall McDougal 2002
Lou Merloni 2004
Matt Miller 2005
Mike Porzio 2004
Argenis Reyes 2004
Paul Rigdon 2003
CC Sabathia (NYY) 1999
Carl Sadler 1999-2000
Tony Sipp (CLE) 2004
Brian Slocum 2002
Zach Sorenson 2001
Jason Stanford 2005
Mitch Talbot (CLE) 2010
Brian Tallet (TOR) 2000, 2004
Josh Tomlin (CLE) 2006
Wyatt Toregas 2004
Eider Torres 2002
John Van Every 2001-2003
Chad Zerbe 2005

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More