Senators outslug New Hampshire 10-8

By Terry Byrom / Harrisburg Senators | June 1, 2011 6:10 PM ET

Harrisburg, PA - The Harrisburg Senators won a good old-fashioned slugfest on Wednesday night, 10-8, over the New Hampshire Fisher Cats. With the win, the Senators have now won ten straight games. The longest win streak in Sens history took place May 19-30, 1993, when the team won 12 straight. The Senators improve to 30-20 on the season with the win while New Hampshire falls to 34-18.

Six different Senators had two hits and the Sens had their biggest inning of the year, six runs in the second, in the win. Steve Lombardozzi had the first of two hits, a lead-off home run in the bottom of the first to give Harrisburg a 1-0 lead. It is his second bottom of the first lead-off home run on the season. Bill Rhinehart had a two-run triple and Chris Rahl had an RBI triple, and Alex Valdez an RBI double. Tyler Moore and Derek Norris both had RBI singles. Josh Johnson, Archie Gilbert, Lombardozzi, Rahl, Norris, and Rhinehart all had two hits in the game.

Trailing 2-0 into the top of the 3rd, New Hampshire scored three runs on a three-run home run by Anthony Gose. The Sens immediately came back with six runs in the third, their largest inning on the season. New Hampshire hit three home runs in the game as Travis d'Arnaud hit a solo shot and John Tolisano added a three-run home run in the 8th. After the Sens took an 8-3 lead, New Hampshire scored single runs in the fourth and sixth innings before the Sens scored a pair in the sixth.

Erik Arnesen started and earned his second win on the season. Zech Zinicola pitched a perfect ninth inning for his first save. Chad Beck started for New Hampshire lost for the first time this season.

The Senators finish their homestand on Thursday evening at 7:00 p.m. with RH Ryan Tatusko on the mound for the Sens against RH Joel Carreno for New Hampshire. The game can be heard on 1460am The Ticket, on the Internet through the Senators website, and on your ipad or iphone beginning at 6:50 p.m.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More