Spikes win NYPL's Outstanding Club award

Award recognizes long-term contribution to league, industry

The McNamara Outstanding Club award is the NYPL's top franchise award.

September 29, 2011 7:48 AM

The State College Spikes are pleased to announce that the franchise has been named the winner of the New York-Penn League's Vincent McNamara Outstanding Club Award for the 2011 season. The announcement was made Wednesday, Sept. 28 by Ben J. Hayes, President of the New York-Penn League.

The Vincent McNamara Outstanding Club Award is presented annually to the club that exemplifies the exceptional standards of the complete baseball franchise in the areas of contribution to the baseball industry, long-term franchise stability, promotion of the baseball industry, contribution to the community and financial success of operations. The award is voted upon by General Managers or ultimate authorities from each of the NYPL's 14 franchises.

"We are honored and thrilled to be selected by our NYPL peers as the winner of this year's Vincent McNamara Outstanding Club Award, particularly because this honor was judged not merely on the 2011 season, but moreso on our contributions to our community, the league, and the baseball industry over multiple seasons," said Spikes General Manager Jason Dambach. "The New York-Penn League is filled with outstanding franchises in wonderful communities across seven states, so we are truly humbled for the Spikes to be recognized among many equally-deserving clubs."

By winning this league award, the Spikes will receive the NYPL's nomination to be considered for the prestigious John H. Johnson President's Trophy, which signifies the top franchise from all 160 Minor League Baseball clubs across the United States and Canada. The President's Trophy winner will be honored at this year's Baseball Winter Meetings, Dec. 2-5 in Dallas, Texas.

"Our ownership group and management team is deeply appreciative of being named our league's outstanding franchise, and our fans from State College, Centre County and the entire Central PA region share in this honor," said Spikes' Chairman and Managing Partner Chuck Greenberg. "Long before we had beautiful Medlar Field at Lubrano Park to call home, or conceived of the Spikes identity, our group had a long-term vision of success for this franchise. Our fans were at the core of that vision. Without their dedicated support and belief in the fun, value and affordability of Minor League Baseball, this type of recognition from the baseball community would not be possible."

This marks the first time the Spikes have won the McNamara Outstanding Club Award since starting play in the league in 2006. Recent winners include the Aberdeen IronBirds (2010), Brooklyn Cyclones (2009) and Tri-City ValleyCats (2008).

Previously, the Spikes franchise earned the NYPL's Leo Pinckney Promotional Award in 2008, which is presented annually to the club demonstrating the circuit's top promotional and marketing effort. Additionally, Greenberg, Dambach, Vice Presidents Rick Janac and Jeff Garner, Assistant GM Chris Phillips, and other members of the current Spikes' ownership and management team were vital members of the Altoona Curve franchise that won the 2006 John H. Johnson President's Trophy as Minor League Baseball's top franchise.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More