Spinners highlight All-Star outfield

Rosters for New York-Penn League All-Star Game revealed

Orioles prospect Glynn Davis is 18-for-21 in stolen base attempts. (Kevin Pataky/MiLB.com)

By Danny Wild / MLB.com | August 8, 2011 5:22 PM

There will be some familiar faces in the outfield in Lowell on Aug. 16 when the best of the New York-Penn League meet for the midsummer classic.

Hometown favorites Matty Johnson, Keury De La Cruz and Seth Schwindenhammer were all selected as All-Star outfielders from the Spinners for the 2011 New York-Penn League All-Star Game on Monday as the league announced rosters and coaching staffs for the annual contest.

Williamsport, a Phillies affiliate, will counter on the National League side with three outfielders of their own in Kelly Dugan, Aaron Altherr and Kyrell Hudson.

The league's top home run hitter, Hudson Valley's Jeff Malm, will lead the American League lineup from first base, and the circuit's top base stealer, Aberdeen outfielder Glynn Davis, also was named to the squad. Davis is 18-for-21 in stolen base attempts.

Staten Island's Mason Williams, Mahoning Valley's Tony Wolters and De La Cruz, the league's top three hit leaders, will represent the AL affiliates. The NL affiliates squad will feature the left side of the Brooklyn infield in shortstop Daniel Muno, hitting .338, and third baseman Richard Lucas, batting .322.

On the mound, Jamestown's Josh Hodges should see action after going 5-0 with a 3.58 ERA in 10 starts for the Marlins affiliate. He's tied for the league lead in wins and has 31 strikeouts in 55 innings.

Staten Island closer Brandon Pinder could get the ball in late innings again for the AL squad. He made the team after leading the league with 10 saves and a 0.50 ERA in 18 innings for the Yankees.

The game will be played at LeLacheur Park in Lowell, Mass. The full rosters and coaching staffs for the game are below:

2011 New York-Penn League All-Star Teams
A.L. Affiliates All-Star Team
N.L. Affiliates All-Star Team
Charlie Cononie RHP Hudson Valley Gabriel Arias RHP Williamsport
Evan DeLuca LHP Staten Island Jonathan Cornelius LHP Batavia
Robert Dickmann LHP Hudson Valley Benjamin Grisz RHP Auburn
Trent Howard LHP Aberdeen Kyle Hallock LHP Tri-City
Danny Jimenez LHP Mahoning Valley Josh Hodges RHP Jamestown
Parker Markel RHP Hudson Valley Michael Maness RHP Batavia
Tanner Peters RHP Vermont Todd McInnis RHP Batavia
Branden Pinder RHP Staten Island Mike Nesseth RHP Williamsport
Brennan Smith RHP Connecticut Tyson Seng RHP Brooklyn
Jeff Urlaub LHP Vermont Chase Wier RHP Jamestown
Position Players
Matt Rice C Hudson Valley Juan Castillo C Batavia
Nick Rickles C Vermont Samuel Gonzalez C State College
Dean Green DH Connecticut Joe Bergman 2B Batavia
Sean Jamieson SS Vermont Terrence Dayleg 1B Jamestown
Dudley Leonora 2B Aberdeen Matt Duffy 3B Tri-City
Jeff Malm 1B Hudson Valley Hendry Jimenez 2B Auburn
Chih Fang Pan 2B Vermont Richard Lucas 3B Brooklyn
Jordan Smith 3B Mahoning Valley David Medina 1B Batavia
Casey Stevenson 3B Staten Island Daniel Muno SS Brooklyn
Joe Velleggia 1B Aberdeen Bryce Ortega SS Auburn
Tony Wolters SS Mahoning Valley Matt Skole DH Auburn
Glynn Davis OF Aberdeen Aaron Altherr OF Williamsport
Keury De La Cruz OF Lowell Kelly Dugan OF Williamsport
Matty Johnson OF Lowell Justin Gominsky OF Tri-City
Bryson Myles OF Mahoning Valley Kyrell Hudson OF Williamport
Seth Schwindenhammer OF Lowell Travis Taijeron OF Brooklyn
Mason Williams OF Staten Island Charles Thurber DH Brooklyn
Field Staff
Carlos Febles Manager Stubby Clapp Manager
Paul Abbott Pitching Gary Ruby Pitching
Rich Gedman Hitting Lowell Mark Bailey Hitting
Mauricio Elizondo Ath. Trainer Kevin Ortega Ath. Trainer
Keita Terada Asst. Ath. Trainer Michael Kenyon Asst. Ath. Trainer

Note: Garin Cecchini (3B, Lowell) was named to the American League team, but will not participate due to injury. Brent Keys (OF, Jamestown) and Carlos Mesa (OF, State College) were named to the National League team, but will not participate due to injury.

Danny Wild is an editor for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More