Three Rattlers are MWL Postseason All-Stars

By Chris Mehring / Wisconsin Timber Rattlers | August 24, 2010 11:54 AM ET

GRAND CHUTE, WI - Three Wisconsin Timber Rattlers have been named to the 2010 Midwest League Postseason All-Star Team.  Second baseman Scooter Gennett, outfielder Khris Davis, and closer Jon Pokorny were elected to the team in a vote by the managers of the 16 teams in the Midwest League.  These three Rattlers are the first postseason all-stars for the Timber Rattlers since Matt Tuiasosopo was the shortstop on the 2005 team.

Gennett, who was the starting second baseman for the West Division at the 2010 All-Star Game in Fort Wayne, is hitting .321, the highest batting average of current Midwest League players.  In his first professional season, Gennett has nine home runs and 54 RBI.

Davis was the starting left fielder for the West Division in the 2010 All-Star Game and he stole the show on the night before the game by winning the Midwest League Home Run Derby.  Davis is hitting .284 with 19 homers and 65 RBI.  The nineteen homers are good for third in the Midwest League and are two shy of tying the Timber Rattlers franchise record for home runs in a single season.

Pokorny, a ninth round pick of the Milwaukee Brewers in the 2009 draft out of Kent State, started the season in long relief and set up roles.  In early June, he was moved into the closer's spot and has been almost perfect.  Pokorny is 16 for 19 in save opportunities this season and is tied for fifth in the Midwest League in saves.  Pokorny, who was named to the postseason squad as a left-handed reliever, is three saves shy of tying the Wisconsin franchise record for saves in a single season.

The naming of three Timber Rattlers to this season's postseason All-Star team marks the most Wisconsin players on the team in franchise history.  The previous high had been two in four straight seasons form 1998 to 2001.

PLAYER            POS  

Matt Tuiasosopo   SS     2005
Shin-Soo Choo     OF     2002
Pedro Lirano      2B     2001
Jamal Strong      OF     2001
Shawn McCorkle    1B     2000
Chris Snelling    OF     2000
Juan Silvestre    OF     1999
Clint Chrysler    LHRP   1999
Jermaine Clark    2B     1998
Ryan Anderson     LHSP   1998

The three MWL Postseason All-Stars and the entire Wisconsin Timber Rattlers team are home to wrap up their regular season home schedule for 2010 with a homestand from August 28 through September 3.  Tickets are available for all seven games of the homestand and may be purchased one of three ways: On-line at, over the phone at 800-WI-TIMBER, or in person at the Time Warner Cable Field Box Office.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More