Turf award winners named

Stevenson, Parrott, Tanis, Hall are classification winners

By Minor League Baseball | November 21, 2011 11:00 AM

ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. -- Joey Stevenson (Triple-A), Matt Parrott (Double-A), Doug Tanis (Class A) and Jon Hall (Short-Season/Rookie) are this year's classification winners in the annual Sports Turf Manager of the Year Awards, sponsored by the Sports Turf Managers Association (STMA).

The four first-time winners, who were chosen from among 16 league honorees, will receive their award at the Baseball Winter Meetings™ Awards Luncheon at the Hilton Anatole in Dallas, Texas, on Monday, Dec. 5.

Stevenson has worked on the Indianapolis Indians' Victory Field since 2007, when he was an assistant. He assumed the role of head groundskeeper the following year.

In 2011, Parrott completed his ninth season plying his trade at Prince George's Stadium, home of the Bowie Baysox.

Tanis has been the head groundskeeper with Winston-Salem since 2007, working the first few years on Ernie Shore Field. The Dash moved into their current home, BB&T Ballpark, in 2010.

Hall has worked for the past four years at the home of the Danville Braves, Dan Daniel Memorial Park.

Ten of the 16 league winners this season have previously been honored since the STMA began recognizing sports turf managers in 2001. Ed Attala of the Jacksonville Suns has now been honored seven times (2003-06, 2009-10). Atalla was the Double-A winner in 2003. Opie Cheek has also received an award on seven occasions, having been the recipient of the Florida State League honor every year since 2004 for his work with the Clearwater Threshers. He was the Class A winner in 2009.

Four-time winners include Eric Blanton of the Reno Aces (2007-09) and Tony Lee (2001, 2005-06) of the Spokane Indians. Blanton was the Double-A honoree in 2007 when he was with the New Hampshire Fisher Cats. Lee captured the Short-Season/Rookie award in 2001.

Matt Neri of the State College Spikes (2006, 2010), Nephi Peterson of the Orem Owlz (2008-09), and Brock Phipps of the Springfield Cardinals (2007-08) have each won on three occasions. Phipps took home Double-A honors in 2008.

The Lake Elsinore Storm's Peter Hayes (2009), Martín Vidal Miranda (2008) of the Mexico City Red Devils, and Mike Williams of the Charleston RiverDogs (2009) are all two-time winners.

Keith Winter of the Fort Wayne TinCaps and Gene Egan of the Gulf Coast League Rays join the classification winners as first-time honorees.

The STMA provides educational opportunities and support so that sports turf managers can deliver the best sports surfaces for all levels of play. Sports turf managers are experts on the field and partners of the game.

The 2011 league winners:
International League -- Joey Stevenson, Indianapolis Indians
Pacific Coast League -- Eric Blanton, Reno Aces
Mexican League -- Martín Vidal Miranda, Mexico City Red Devils
Eastern League -- Matt Parrott, Bowie Baysox
Southern League -- Ed Attalla, Jacksonville Suns
Texas League -- Brock Phipps, Springfield Cardinals
California League -- Peter Hayes, Lake Elsinore Storm
Carolina League -- Doug Tanis, Winston-Salem Dash
Florida State League -- Opie Cheek, Clearwater Threshers
Midwest League -- Keith Winter, Fort Wayne TinCaps
South Atlantic League -- Mike Williams, Charleston RiverDogs
New York-Penn League -- Matt Neri, State College Spikes
Northwest League -- Tony Lee, Spokane Indians
Appalachian League -- Jon Hall, Danville Braves
Pioneer League -- Nephi Peterson, Orem Owlz
Gulf Coast League -- Gene Egan, Rays

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More