Cardinals drop Miracle, 7-4, in game two of series

Palm Beach plates four in the seventh to earn victory

By Fort Myers Miracle | April 22, 2013 6:03 PM ET

JUPITER, Fla. (April 22, 2013) - The Fort Myers Miracle fell to the Palm Beach Cardinals, 7-4, on Monday night at Roger Dean Stadium.

The Cardinals scored four runs off Miracle reliever Chad Rodgers in the seventh inning to erase a one-run deficit. The Miracle committed an error, had a wild pitch and issued three walks. Palm Beach capitalized with three hits in the inning including RBI singles from Nick Longmire and Danny Stienstra.

Fort Myers initially erased a 3-0 lead from the Cardinals over two innings in the fifth and sixth. Cardinals starter Kyle Hald had faced just one over the minimum entering the fifth, but Michael Gonzales earned a lead-off walk. Kennys Vargas then doubled down the left field line. Gonzales was rounding the third base bag when Cardinal left fielder Jimmy Parque misplayed the ball in the corner, allowing Gonzales to score.

Lance Ray followed with a broken bat single to bring in Vargas and put the Miracle down a run, 3-2.

In the sixth, Fort Myers took the lead with back-to-back hits from Eddie Rosario and Miguel Sano off Cardinals releiver Scott Gorgen. After A.J. Pettersen earned a one-out walk, Rosario tripled into the right field corner to plate Pettersen and tie the game. Sano then lined a single into right center field to bring in Rosario and give the Miracle the advantage, 4-3.

The lead and the game unraveled for the Miracle in the seventh and Rodgers (2-1) was saddled with the loss. Gorgen (1-0) earned the win for Palm Beach in a rehabilitation appearance.

Matt Summers started for the Miracle and received a no decision in four innings of work. Summers allowed three runs on 10 hits with a walk and three strikeouts.

The Miracle (14-4) look to avoid the sweep at the hand of the Palm Beach Cardinals (11-7) at Roger Dean Stadium on Tuesday night. First pitch is slated for 6:35 p.m.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More