Limonta's Slam Leads Missions to 13th Title

By San Antonio Missions | September 15, 2013 2:24 PM ET

San Antonio earned their 13th Texas League title after a 5-0 win over Arkansas in Game 5 of the Texas League Championship Series Sunday afternoon at Dickey-Stephens Park.
The Missions wasted no time taking a lead in Game 5. In the top of the first, Cory Spangenberg began the rally with a one-out double down the right field line. After an Austin Hedges fly ball moved Spangenberg to third, designated hitter Rob Kral drove in the game's first run with a double to left. Kral finished the game 3-for-4 with an RBI and a run scored. He entered the game 0-for-12 in the playoffs.
In the top of the fourth, San Antonio went back on the attack, putting runners on first and second with two outs for Adam Buschini. Arkansas starter Brandon Hynick (0-2) got Buschini to bounce into what looked like an inning-ending ground out, but shortstop Jimmy Swift booted the ball, allowing the frame to continue. Next batter, Johan Limonta made the Travs pay, taking Hynick's 3-2 pitch over the wall in right center for a grand slam. Incredibly, it was San Antonio's first homer of the postseason and Limonta's first since July 5.
For the second time in the postseason, Missions' starter Josh Geer (2-0) delivered in a winner-take-all Game 5. The veteran right-hander allowed just three hits and no walks, while striking out two in five shutout innings.
San Antonio then turned to the pen, beginning with Game 1 starter Matt Wisler, who fanned three in three perfect innings.
Closer Jeremy McBryde preserved the shutout in the ninth, striking out C.J. Cron swinging to end the game and the TLCS.
The Missions have won two of the last three Texas League titles, each time defeating Arkansas in the finals.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More