Missions Announce Hall of Fame Jersey Series for 2014

Missions to honor Brooks Robinson, Billy Williams, Joe Morgan and Dennis Eckersley with Hall of Fame jersey series in 2014 season.

By San Antonio Missions | January 8, 2014 2:33 PM ET

San Antonio - The San Antonio Missions are excited to announce their 2014 jersey giveaway series. This year's series, once again sponsored by McCombs Ford West, will feature former San Antonio legends now in the Baseball Hall of Fame.

On April 11, fans can go home with a Brooks Robinson Missions jersey. Robinson played in San Antonio from 1956-57 when the team was affiliated with the Baltimore Orioles. In 154 games for the Missions in 1956, Robinson hit .272 with 28 doubles, six triples, nine homers, 74 RBI and 72 runs scored. The third baseman played 23 seasons in the big leagues with Baltimore, where he was a 15-time All Star, a 16-time Gold Glove winner and the 1964 American League Most Valuable Player. Robinson was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1983.

The next jersey night (May 16) honors former Chicago Cubs legend Billy Williams. The Whistler, Alabama native played 94 games for the then Cub-affiliated Missions in 1959, batting .318 with 10 homers and 79 RBI. He spent 18 years in the majors, 16 with the Cubs and his final two seasons with the Oakland A's. Williams was a six-time All Star and the 1961 National League Rookie of the Year. In 1972, Williams led the NL in BA at .333, SLG at .606, OPS at 1.005 and total bases with 348. Williams was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1987.

On June 13, fans will have the chance to receive a Joe Morgan San Antonio Bullets jersey. Morgan, one of the greatest second baseman in baseball history, played for the then Houston Astros-affiliate in 1964. That season, Morgan was named Texas League Player of the Year after batting .323 with 42 doubles, eight triples, 12 homers, 90 RBI and 113 runs scored in 140 games. Morgan went on to a 22-year big league career, during which he was a 10-time All Star, a two-time NL MVP winner and a 1990 Hall of Fame inductee.

The final installment (August 15) of the McCombs Ford West jersey series will feature Hall of Fame right-hander Dennis Eckersley. The Oakland, CA native pitched for the San Antonio Brewers (Cleveland Indians' affiliate) in 1974, going 14-3 with a 3.40 ERA and earning Texas League right- handed Pitcher of the Year. Eckersley, who was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 2004, pitched for 24 years in the big leagues. In 1992 for the Oakland A's, Eckersley had one of the greatest seasons ever for a reliever, going 7-1 with a 1.91 ERA and 51 saves, while winning both the AL CY Young and MVP honors.

Each jersey giveaway falls on a Friday night. The first 1,500 fans to enter Wolff Stadium those evenings will receive the jerseys.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More