Mustangs named All-Stars

August 28, 2012 12:21 PM ET

BILLINGS, MT - Billings Mustangs infielder Seth Mejias-Brean and pitcher Ismael Guillon were named Pioneer League All-Stars. Mustangs manager Pat Kelly was named Pioneer League Manager of the Year. Five other Mustangs received Honorable Mention.

On the day the team was announced, Mejias-Brean was hitting .349 with 7 home runs and 35 RBI. The Cincinnati Reds selected Mejias-Brean in the Eighth Round of the 2012 First-Year Player Draft out of University of Arizona.

Prior to Guillon's call up to the Dayton Dragons, he had a 4-1 record with a 2.29 ERA. Guillon was signed as non-drafted free agent in 2008 out of Venezulea.

The Mustangs capped a trifecta of league awards on Friday, when Pat Kelly was named the 2012 Pioneer Baseball League Manager of the Year - a well-deserved honor for one of the great baseball men in all of the professional ranks.

In his second season with the Mustangs, PK has compiled a record of 82-59 (.582) through Monday's action. Billings won the overall North Division title in 2011 at 44-32, but became the first PBL team in over a decade to miss the playoffs while accomplishing that feat. Billings finished second in the first-half standings behind the Missoula Osprey, and second in the second-half behind the Great Falls Voyagers. The champions of each half-season meet in the North Division playoffs each year.

Under Kelly's guidance, Billings has been in first-place every day so far in the second half (26 games), and spent 21 days in first during the season's first half - for a total of 48 days (including one off day) this season. The Mustangs rank first among all teams in shutout wins (5), triples (36), second in ERA (4.26) and strikeouts as a staff (561).

The Billings Mustangs also had five players receive Honorable Mentions on the All-Star Team: Outfielder Jesse Winker, Infielders Taylor Wren and Brandon Dailey, and Pitchers Matt Wiley and Andrew Cisco.

The Pioneer League Palph Nelles Award (MVP) went to David Dahl of the Grand Junction Rockies and the Logan Hurlbert Award (Pitcher of the Year) went to Sam Selman of the Idaho Chukars.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More