Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

FSL All-Stars led by Yelich, O'Neill

League's top closer Barnes voted to annual postseason squad
August 28, 2012
Christian Yelich added another award to his 2012 collection on Monday, highlighting the 2012 Florida State League's Postseason All-Star team.

Yelich, the Marlins' top hitting prospect, anchors a solid All-Star outfield for the postseason team that includes fellow Marlins farmhand Marcell Ozuna, the Cardinals' Mike O'Neill and the Cubs' John Andreoli.

Yelich, who was selected to the FSL All-Star Game and the All-Star Futures Game this year, is batting .319 with a dozen homers, 19 steals and 47 RBIs in 100 games for Class A Advanced Jupiter. He was previously considered Miami's No. 1 prospect before the organization acquired Jacob Turner.

O'Neill leads the FSL with a .342 average for Palm Beach, while Yelich ranks second. Ozuna tops the circuit with 89 RBIs and 22 homers (St. Lucie's Cory Vaughn also has 22 homers but did not make the team.)

A pair of catchers were voted to the team: Clearwater's Cameron Rupp and Fort Myers' Josmil Pinto. The rest of the infield includes Bradenton first baseman Alex Dickerson, Palm Beach second baseman Starlin Rodriguez, Brevard County third baseman Mike Walker, Dunedin shortstop Kevin Nolan and Jupiter shortstop Danny Black.

Tampa slugger Kyle Roller made the squad as designated hitter -- the Yankees prospect ranks third in the league with 82 RBIs.

All-Star starting pitchers include Matt Loosen (Daytona), Adam Morgan and Austin Wright (both of Clearwater) and Nik Turley (Tampa). Morgan's 3.29 ERA ranks third in the league, while Wright's 3.42 mark ranks fifth.

Dunedin's Daniel Barnes and St. Lucie's Adam Kolarek were voted the top relievers. Barnes leads the league with 33 saves while Kolarek has 17 saves with 66 strikeouts in 54 1/3 innings.

Tommy Craig of the Brevard County Manatees was selected by his peers as the 2012 Florida State League Athletic Trainer of the Year. Among other accomplishments over his long career, he served as head trainer of the Toronto Blue Jays during their back-to-back World Series seasons of 1992 and 1993.

The full roster and coaching staff is below:

Florida State League Postseason All-Stars
Position Players
Josmil Pinto C Fort Myers MIN
Cameron Rupp C Clearwater PHI
Alex Dickerson 1B Bradenton PIT
Starlin Rodriguez 2B Palm Beach STL
Mike Walker 3B Brevard County MIL
Kevin Nolan SS Dunedin TOR
Danny Black INF Jupiter FLA
Mike O'Neill LF Palm Beach STL
Christian Yelich CF Jupiter FLA
Marcell Ozuna RF Jupiter FLA
John Andreoli OF Daytona CHC
Kyle Roller DH Tampa NYY
Matt Loosen SP Daytona CHC
Adam Morgan SP Clearwater PHI
Nik Turley SP Tampa NYY
Austin Wright SP Clearwater PHI
Daniel Barnes RP Dunedin TOR
Adam Kolarek RP St. Lucie NYM
Field Staff
Ryan Ellis Manager St. Lucie NYM
Mike Redmond Coach Dunedin TOR
Andy Haines Coach Jupiter MIA

Danny Wild is an editor for