Storm Chasers Win 2nd Straight PCL Championship

Aaron Brooks tosses shutout in Game 5, named 2014 PCL Playoffs MVP

(Mark Kuhlmann/

By Andrew Mitchell / Omaha Storm Chasers | September 14, 2014 7:01 PM

OMAHA, Neb. - The Omaha Storm Chasers defeated the Reno Aces 4-0 Sunday to win their second straight Pacific Coast League Championship, and third title in the last four seasons. They will face the Pawtucket Red Sox in the 2014 Triple-A National Championship in Charlotte this Tuesday, September 16 at 6:05 p.m.

The Storm Chasers are the seventh team since 1963, when the PCL started playing a consistent Championship Round, to win back-to-back titles and the third team since the PCL expanded in 1998 (Sacramento in 2003-04 and in 2007-08). There are also the second team to win three titles in a four-year span since 1963 as the Albuquerque Dukes did so from 1980-82.

Omaha starter Aaron Brooks tossed a complete game shutout in the Game 5 win and was named the 2014 PCL Playoffs MVP with three wins and only two runs allowed in 24.0 postseason innings. Brooks finished off the 2014 season allowing just eight earned runs in 53.0 innings (1.36 ERA) in seven straight wins.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More