51s' Rosario claims top rookie honor

Las Vegas SS dazzles with bat, glove in first year at Triple-A

Photo Credit: Las Vegas 51s

By Pacific Coast League | August 30, 2017 1:27 PM

ROUND ROCK, Texas - Las Vegas 51s' shortstop Amed Rosario edged out teammate Dominic Smith to win the Pacific Coast League's Rookie of the Year. Rosario is the first Las Vegas player to take the honor since the award was created in 1998.

The Mets' top prospect entering the season, and a consensus top-10 prospect in the game, was both a mid- and postseason PCL All-Star in his first year at Minor League Baseball's highest level. Prior to his August 1 promotion to New York, he played in 94 games with the 51s and hit .328 (129-for-393), a mark currently placing fifth in the league, with seven home runs, 58 RBI, 66 runs scored and 19 stolen bases. Rosario compiled an .833 OPS by reaching base at a .367 clip and slugging .466.

Video: Las Vegas' Rosario hits his fifth home run

The Dominican Republic native had multiple hits in 42 contests, nearly half the games he appeared; at the time of his call-up, his 129 hits were second in the PCL. Rosario collected three hitting streaks of 10 or more games, including twice hitting in a season-best 17 consecutive contests. The most recent 17-game stretch was from June 27-July 27, a span in which he hit .416 (32-for-77). Rosario also had a 29-game streak of reaching base safely, doing so from May 13-June 13. Rosario twice collected a single-game best four hits, including a July 6 performance that also featured season-bests in runs (3) and stolen bases (2).

Video: Rosario extends hit streak to 17 with 51s

The 21-year-old has had a decorated five-year professional career in the Mets organization. Along with his PCL honors this season, Rosario was a midseason All-Star in both 2014 (New-York Penn League) and 2016 (Florida State League). The shortstop has also appeared in the last two SiriusXM All-Star Futures Games, going 1-for-4 with a run scored.

Video: Amed Rosario makes a great play for the 51s

The field managers, media representatives and league officials vote for the PCL's Rookie of the Year, which honors a player's outstanding achievement during his first year at Triple-A. Felix Hernandez (2005), Howie Kendrick (2006), Adam Eaton (2012) and Joc Pederson (2014) are some of the names to have won the award. Along with Smith, Willie Calhoun (Round Rock), Jack Flaherty (Memphis) and Ryan McMahon (Albuquerque) were others to receive votes.

Remaining Schedule of 2017 PCL Awards:

Thursday, August 31: Pitcher of the Year

Friday, September 1: Most Valuable Player

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More