Clapp tabbed Manager of the Year after historic season

Skipper has led Memphis to most wins in franchise history, PCL's best record and a division title

Photo Credit: Memphis Redbirds

By Pacific Coast League | August 29, 2017 1:30 PM

ROUND ROCK, Texas - After guiding the Memphis Redbirds to a record-setting season, first-year manager Stubby Clapp has been elected the Pacific Coast League's 2017 Manager of the Year through a vote of field managers, media representatives and team officials. Clapp is the first Redbirds skipper to receive the honor in the team's 20-year PCL history.

Clapp has led the Redbirds to a franchise record in wins, a mark set with Memphis' 84th victory of the season on August 21. The Memphis roster has featured 57 players, 18 of whom have played for their parent club St. Louis and seven of whom made their Major League debut.

The Redbirds clinched the American Southern Division on August 13 with a win at Nashville. Memphis, who currently owns a 22-game lead in the division, is seeking to become the third team in the league's history to win a division by 20 or more games. The division format was established in 1963, with only the 1970 Spokane Indians (26 games) and the 1981 Albuquerque Dukes (25 games) accomplishing the feat.  

Video: Lucas notches the save

Under the direction of the 44-year-old, Memphis went a franchise monthly-best 22-6 in July, a stretch that featured 12 straight home wins from July 3-27. The Redbirds won a club all-time-best 11 consecutive games from April 28-May 8, seven of which were on the road. The team also went nearly fourth months without losing a series, either winning or splitting 27 straight sets.

The Canadian native is in his 11th professional season as a coach, including his third managing. He previously led the Astros' short-season Tri-City ValleyCats to an 84-67 record, including a New York-Penn League finals appearance in 2012. Clapp was also a prominent member of the Redbirds franchise as a player. From the 1999-2002 seasons, he appeared in 425 games and sits atop the Redbirds' career leaders in walks and triples. Clapp was part of one of the franchise's two PCL Championship teams, hitting three home runs and driving in 11 during the 2000 postseason.

Clapp joins the likes of Tommy Lasorda (1970), Terry Collins (1988), Charlie Manuel (1992) and Ryne Sandberg (2010) to have won this award. The PCL has honored the top manager annually since 1967. Colorado Springs' Rick Sweet, who has led the Sky Sox to their first postseason appearance in 20 years, was this season's runner-up. Greg Gross (Reno), Keith Johnson (Salt Lake) and Tony DeFrancesco (Fresno) also received votes.

Remaining Schedule of 2017 PCL Awards:

Wednesday, August 30: Rookie of the Year

Thursday, August 31: Pitcher of the Year

Friday, September 1: Most Valuable Player

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More