Three Beach Birds Named To All-Star Roster

Bruce Caldwell, Alex Reyes, and Luke Voit were named to the 2015 Florida State League All-Star Team.

By Natalie Bohonsky / Palm Beach Cardinals | June 8, 2015 11:43 AM

JUPITER, Fla. - The Florida State League 2015 North and South All-Star Teams were announced today by League President, Ken Carson. The 54th All-Star Game will be played at Tradition Field, home of the St. Lucie Mets, on Saturday, June 20, 2015 at 7:00 p.m. The Palm Beach Cardinals had three players selected, two who are currently on the active roster.

Alex Reyes, a right-handed pitcher from Elizabeth, New Jersey, was named to the All-Star squad after his ten starts this season. He's posted an impressive 2.17 ERA and leads the league in strikeouts with 69. In his 49.2 innings pitched, he's allowed 15 runs, 12 earned on 39 hits. In his first ten outings, he's averaged 5.0 innings, 12.62 strikeouts and 4.57 walks per nine innings pitched.

Luke Voit, an infielder from Wildwood, Missouri, was named to be the designated hitter for the South Division. Voit has played in 52 of the 56 games this season, hitting .267. His batting average is the best among the Beach Birds who started the season in Palm Beach on April 9. Voit leads the team in RBI (24), second in hits (50), and has drawn the most walks by opposing pitchers in the Palm Beach lineup (30).

Bruce Caldwell, an infielder from Sumter, South Carolina, was named to the All-Star Roster after playing 44 games with Palm Beach. Before being promoted to Springfield (AA) on May 29, Caldwell was batting .248, with 16 RBI on 41 hits.



Andrew Knapp (C) Clearwater  

Joe Hudson (C) Daytona  

Kyle Higashioka (C) Tampa  

Dominic Ficociello (INF) Lakeland   

Chris McFarland (INF) Brevard   

Alex Blandino (INF) Daytona  

Miguel Andujar (INF) Tampa   

Tyler Wade (INF) Tampa      

Angelo Mora (INF) Clearwater  

Phillip Ervin (OF) Daytona  

Clint Coulter (OF) Brevard

Victor Roache (OF) Brevard

Ben Verlander (OF) Lakeland

Brandon Leibrandt (P) Clearwater

Mark Leiter (P) Clearwater

Kevin Ziomek (P) Lakeland

Jorge Ortega (P) Brevard

Nick Travieso (P) Daytona

Jonathan Holder (P) Tampa

Ryan Longstreth (P) Lakeland

Andury Acevedo (P) Tampa

Chad Girodo (P) Dunedin

Angel Rincon (P) Tampa

Alberto Tirado (P) Dunedin

Mike Ford (DH) Tampa

Eli Marrero (Manager) Daytona

Tony Fossas (Pitching Coach) Daytona

Kevin Mahar (Hitting Coach) Daytona

Kyle Utne (Trainer) Daytona

Morgan Gregory (Strength Coach) Dayton


Jin-De Jhang (C) Bradenton

Alex Swim (C) Fort Myers

Reese McGuire (C) Bradenton 

Jake Bauers (INF) Charlotte

Jeff McNeil (INF) St. Lucie

Willy Adames (INF) Charlotte

Brian Anderson (INF) Jupiter

Jacoby Jones (INF) Bradenton 

J.T. Riddle (INF) Jupiter

Austin Dean (OF) Jupiter

Austin Meadows (OF) Bradenton  

Yefri Perez (OF) Jupiter  

Marty Gantt (OF) Charlotte

Jacob Faria (P) Charlotte

Alex Reyes (P) Palm Beach

Scott Lyman (P) Jupiter

Chih-Wei-Hu (P) Fort Myers

Brad Schreiber (P) Charlotte  

Akeel Morris (P) St. Lucie  

Miguel Del Pazo (P) Jupiter  

Buddy Borden (P) Charlotte  

Brandon Peterson (P) Fort Myers

Tyler Bremer (P) Jupiter      

Jarlin Garcia (P) Jupiter   

Luke Voit (DH) Palm Beach

Jeff Smith (Manager) Fort Myers

Ivan Arteaga (Pitching Coach) Fort Myers   

Jim Dwyer (Hitting Coach) Fort Myers  

Alan Rail (Trainer) Fort Myers

Kirby Retzer (Strength Coach) Fort Myers


HP UMPIRE                          Matt Winters 

1st Base Umpire                     Ryan Doherty

2nd Base Umpire                    Joe George 

3rd Base Umpire                     Alex MacKay 

Players elected to teams and promoted:

Bruce Caldwell - Palm Beach  

Juancito Martinez - Jupiter

Juniel Querecuto - Charlotte   

J.T. Chargois - Fort Myers

Jose Osuna - Bradenton

Jimmy Cordero - Dunedin

Michael Conforto - St. Lucie

Danny Oh - Tampa

Robert Gsellman - St. Lucie

Will Browning - Dunedin

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More