PawSox Win 2012 Governors' Cup Championship

PawSox Manager Arnie Beyeler, President Mike Tamburro, and General Manager Lou Schwechheimer celebrate with the Governors' Cup Trophy. (Photo by Louriann Mardo-Zayat)

By Steve Hyder / Pawtucket Red Sox | September 13, 2012 8:36 PM ET

The Pawtucket Red Sox won their first Governors' Cup title in 28 years on Thursday night in Fort Mill, South Carolina, topping the Knights 4-1. Nelson Figueroa earned his third clinching victory in the last few weeks. Figueroa was on the mound when the Sox clinched the wild card spot, when the Sox clinched the finals berth and got the victory over Charlotte.

The PawSox scored twice in the second and seventh innings. It proved to be more than enough. Pawtucket will face the winner of the Pacific Coast League title, either Reno or Omaha in a one game , winner take all game on Tuesday night in Durham, N.C.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More