Birds drop regular season finale with Muddies

By Travis Lucian / Myrtle Beach Pelicans | September 2, 2013 5:48 PM ET

The Myrtle Beach Pelicans (77-62, 37-33), Class-A Advanced affiliates of the Texas Rangers, lost their regular season finale Monday, falling 2-1 against the Carolina Mudcats at Field. The Pelicans took two out of three in the series and prepare to begin the postseason Wednesday in Winston-Salem. The Pelicans finished the season with the best overall record in the southern division and the second best overall record in the Carolina League.

Right-hander Kevin Pucetas (1-3) started for the Pelicans and took the loss. He tossed a season-best 6.1 innings and allowed two runs on three hits with five strikeouts. Carolina's righty Joe Colon (5-3) earned the win, allowing just one unearned run over six innings. The righty allowed just two hits and the Pelicans tallied just three total.

Joey Wendle put the Mudcats on the board in the third inning with a two-run single. Royce Bolinger scored the Pelicans only run in the fifth inning on a double play ball from Jake Skole.

The Pelicans loaded the bases with nobody down in the seventh inning but Carolina's left-hander J.D. Reichenbach entered and got three straight outs to preserve a 2-1 Muddies lead. The Pelicans stranded the potential tying run in scoring position in the eighth and ninth innings.

Left-hander Cody Ege worked 1.1 scoreless innings out of the bullpen. Tyler Smith entered in the eighth inning and got the final out of the inning on a diving stop by Jorge Alfaro at first. Smith worked the ninth inning scoreless as well.

The Pelicans begin the postseason Wednesday at LewisGale Field in Salem, Virginia. In the first game of a best-of-three series, game time is set for 7:05 p.m. EST with pregame coverage beginning at 6:50. The Pelicans return home for game two Thursday and, if necessary, game three Friday. Tickets are available for purchase online at or by phone at 918-6000. 

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More