Villa, Rodriguez headline Pioneer All-Stars

Home run, ERA leaders earn Rookie-level end-of-season honors

All-Stars and Great Falls teammates Anthony Villa and Craig Dedelow have combined for 27 homers and 101 RBIs. (Jared Ravich/

By Chris Tripodi / | August 29, 2017 6:29 PM

The Great Falls Voyagers are closing in on a second-half division title and on Tuesday, infielder Anthony Villa -- who leads the circuit in homers -- was named to the Pioneer League end-of-season All-Star team.

Villa, a 2016 19th-round pick of the White Sox, has 16 homers and also leads the league with a .672 slugging percentage, 1.131 OPS and 129 total bases [tied with Idaho Falls' Robby Rinn].

Orem Owlz right-hander Elvin Rodriguez -- the Angels' No. 24 prospect -- leads the league with a 2.50 ERA, more than a run higher than the second-ranked pitcher, fellow All-Star Kyle Von Ruden of Great Falls, and almost two runs better than the third-ranked hurler on the list, Billings' Tyler Mondile. Rodriguez also leads the way with a 1.04 WHIP.

Dodgers prospect Luis Paz, who leads the Pioneer League with 55 RBIs, is one of two catchers on the team, along with former teammate Hendrik Clementina of Billings, who was dealt to the Reds at the Trade Deadline.

Grand Junction's Shael Mendoza, who is tied for the top spot with 23 stolen bases and ranks second with a .371 batting average, was named All-Star second baseman. Idaho Falls' Darrell Miller, who was over .400 as recently as Aug. 24 and leads the league with a .393 average, was honored as a designated hitter along with Villa.

The full roster is below:

2017 Pioneer League Postseason All-Star Team
Hendrik Clementina C Ogden/Billings LAD/CIN
Luis Paz C Ogden LAD
Robby Rinn 1B Idaho Falls KC
Shael Mendoza 2B Grand Junction COL
Joey Rose 3B Missoula ARI
Alan Trejo SS Grand Junction COL
Craig Dedelow OF Great Falls CWS
Casey Golden OF Grand Junction COL
Ryan Vega OF Orem LAA
Darrell Miller DH Idaho Falls KC
Anthony Villa * DH Great Falls CWS
Abraham Almonte P Missoula ARI
Nelson Hernandez P Helena MIL
Isaac Mattson P Orem LAA
Elvin Rodriguez P Orem LAA
Kyle Von Ruden P Great Falls CWS
Tom Nieto MGR Orem LAA
* Ralph Nelles Most Valuable Player Award
† Logan Hurlbert Pitcher of the Year Award

Chris Tripodi is an editor for Follow him on Twitter @christripodi. This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More