Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Diaz named Pioneer League MVP

Shortstop among five Osprey on end-of-season All-Star team
September 4, 2015

Hitting for the cycle has become an annual occurrence for the Missoula Osprey. Winning the Pioneer League MVP award? That's a different story.

Shortstop Isan Diaz, who on Aug. 23 became the fourth Osprey to hit for the cycle in as many seasons, on Friday was named the team's first Pioneer League MVP in 14 years.

Left-handers Tanner Banks of the Great Falls Voyagers and Ty Boyles of the Billings Mustangs shared Pitcher of the Year honors, while Billings' Dick Schofield was named Manager of the Year.

Diaz enters the final weekend of the season leading the league with 13 homers, 94 hits, 43 extra-base hits, 169 total bases and 55 runs scored. He's also second with a .640 slugging percentage, fourth with a .356 batting average and fifth with a .429, having reached safely in 61 of the 65 games he's played.

The D-backs' second-round pick in the 2014 Draft is the first Osprey to earn MVP honors since Jesus Cota in 2001.

Banks leads the league with a 1.05 WHIP and ranks second with a 2.73 ERA. The 2014 18th-round pick is 4-5 with one save in 21 games, including 13 starts.

Promoted to Class A Dayton at the end of August, Boyles still leads the league with a 2.17 ERA and is second behind Banks with a 1.17 WHIP.

Here are the rest of the 2015 Pioneer League end-of-season All-Stars:

2015 Pioneer League Postseason All-Star Team
Luke Lowery C Missoula ARI
Austin Byler 1B Missoula ARI
Jonathan Piron 2B Grand Junction COL
Michael Pierson 3B Orem LAA
Isan Diaz SS Missoula ARI
Matt Jones OF Ogden LA
Amalani Fukofuka OF Idaho Falls KC
Daniel Suero OF Grand Junction COL
Joshua Banuelos OF Idaho Falls KC
Ty Boyles P Billings CIN
Tanner Banks P Great Falls CWS
Jairo Pacheco P Ogden LA
Dan Savas P Missoula ARI
Cameron Smith P Missoula ARI
Dick Schofield Manager Billings CIN

Daren Smith is an editor for