Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

MVP Ratterree heads Pioneer All-Stars

Great Falls' Sanchez, Helena manager Diggs also honored
September 1, 2013

During his time at Rice University, Michael Ratterree was named a Freshman All-American in 2010 and was selected to the Second Team ABCA All-South Region and Conference USA Academic Honor Roll in 2011 and 2012 respectively.

But he was never an MVP until he went pro.

Ratterree has been named the winner of the Pioneer League Ralph Nelles (MVP) Award for the 2013 season. He also occupies one of three outfield spots on the Rookie-level circuit's All-Star team, the league announced.

The 22-year-old led the league with 12 homers, 54 RBIs and a .618 slugging percentage in 58 games for Helena, as of Sunday. He also ranked in the top five in average (.320, fifth), hits (73, fifth) OPS (1.018, second) and doubles (20, second). The Houston native spent his first professional season in Helena after being selected in the 10th round of this year's Draft back in June. 

Great Falls right-hander Jake Sanchez takes home the Logan Hurlburt Pitcher of the Year Award after leading the league with a 3.09 ERA, a 1.06 WHIP and 72 strikeouts over 13 starts (75 2/3 innings). The 24-year-old walked only 12 batters in that span. 

Tony Diggs -- Ratterree's skipper in Helena -- was named the Manager of the Year after leading the Brewers to a North Division first-half title. Helena owns the second-best overall record in the league at 40-28, one game behind Great Falls (41-27).

Other honorees on this year's All-Star squad include Grand Junction's Raimel Tapia, who leads the circuit with a .351 average; Ogden's Jacob Scavuzzo, who is tied with Ratterree for the homer lead with 12; and Orem's Jonathan Van Eaton, who leads with nine saves thanks to a 1.10 ERA and 0.86 WHIP in 14 appearances.

Here's the official breakdown of this year's Pioneer League All-Star Team:

2013 Pioneer LEague all-Star Team
Position Players      
Zane Evans C Idaho Falls KC
Daniel Palka 1B Missoula ARI
Carlos Garcia 2B Idaho Falls KC
Cal Towey 3B Orem LAA
Jose Rondon SS Orem LAA
Raimel Tapia OF Grand Junction COL
Michael Ratterree* OF Helena MIL
Jacob Scavuzzo OF Ogden LAD
Jacob Morris DH Great Falls CWS
Patrick Conroy LHP Idaho Falls KC
Jake Sanchez^ RHP Great Falls CWS
Jonathan Van Eaton RHP Orem LAA
Devin Burke RHP Grand Junction COL
Ben Lively RHP Billings CIN
Manager of the Year      
Tony Diggs   Helena MIL

* -- Ralph Nelles Award (MVP), ^ -- Logan Hurlburt Pitcher of the Year Award

Sam Dykstra is a contributor to