Sea Dogs Now Accepting Nominations for William Troubh Community Service Award

February 8, 2019 11:07 AM

Portland, Maine- The Portland Sea Dogs are now accepting nominations for the "William Troubh Community Service Award." The annual award recognizes a local citizen who is making a positive impact within the city of Portland. It may be a public employee or private citizen who, through their efforts, makes Portland a great city to live and work.

The Sea Dogs established the award to honor Mr. Troubh in April of 2014. Mr. Troubh was a lifelong resident of the city of Portland, who dedicated his life to making Portland a great place to live and work. He served multiple terms on the Portland City Council and was Mayor of the city in 1974 and 1975 and again in 1983 and 1984. Troubh was instrumental in bringing the Portland Sea Dogs to the city in 1994. He also played a major role in the development of the Portland Waterfront, Cumberland County Civic Center and the Portland Ice Arena, now named in his honor. His contributions will be enjoyed by residents and visitors of the city for generations to come.

Additionally, Mr. Troubh was a passionate baseball fan. He stayed involved after his key role in helping to bring the Sea Dogs to Portland, serving as the team's legal counsel and served six years as President of the Eastern League from 1997 through 2002. On most summer nights Troubh could be found at Hadlock Field enjoying a Sea Dogs game with family and friends. He was inducted into the Portland Sea Dogs Hall of Fame in 2010.

Nominations must be received by Tuesday, February 26th. Online nomination forms are available at On the nomination form, people will be asked to describe the actions their nominee takes to make Portland a great place to live and work. Nominations may also be mailed to:

Portland Sea Dogs
ATTN: William Troubh Community Service Award
271 Park Avenue
Portland, ME 04102

When submitting a nomination please also include your contact information.

The winner will be announced and honored in a pre-game ceremony at a 2019 Sea Dogs game.  

Past winners include: John Menario (2015), Roger Goodoak (2016), Howard Spear (2017), and Marc Lamontagne (2018).



View More