PLAYOFF BOUND: Power Clinch Berth

Power clinch first playoff berth since 2008

By Mike Baggerman / West Virginia Power | August 29, 2013 5:46 PM ET

(Charleston, WV, August 29, 2013):  For the first time since 2008, the West Virginia Power made the postseason. With the magic number at one, the Power fell to the Asheville Tourists 4-3 but the Hickory Crawdads lost 4-3 to the Greensboro Grasshoppers, clinching a postseason berth.

Asheville took a 4-0 lead in the second inning thanks to five consecutive base hits. Additionally, the Power defense committed a throwing error allowing Ben Waldrip to score.

West Virginia chipped away at the Asheville lead in the upcoming innings. Chris Diaz collected an RBI sac fly with the bases loaded in the third and Raul Fortunato hit a two-RBI double down the left field line in the sixth to make it 4-3.

Kyle Haynes (1-5) took the loss after allowing four runs on seven hits over six innings. Matt Flemer (6-1) picked up the win for Asheville. Raul Fernandez collected his 15th save of the season.

West Virginia will conclude the 2013 regular season with a four-game series at Lexington beginning Friday night. Tyler Glasnow will be opposed by Legends right hander Greg Billo. First pitch is scheduled for 7:05.

The Power will play the Hagerstown Suns in the first round of the divisional playoffs Wednesday, September 4th at 7:05. Tickets for the game are free and the first 1,500 fans will receive a free t-shirt. For more information, please call (304) 344-BATS.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More